Catasauqua Press

Thursday, July 2, 2020

Voters select candidates for Nov. 7 ballots

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 by Linda Wojciechowski in Local News

Voters selected candidates for the November ballot on primary election day May 16.

In Catasauqua, a former borough councilman Al Regits failed in his attempt to regain a seat on the council. Voters selected incumbents Deb Mellish, Vincent Smith and Christine Weaver to fill the Democratic slots on the fall ballot. As they are running unopposed by any Republican candidates, their re-election in November to four-year terms is virtually assured.

Republican Mayor Barbara A. Schlegel was unopposed on her party’s ballot for Catasauqua mayor. There were no Democratic candidates. She is seeking re-election for a four-year term.

The sole candidate on the primary ballot for Catasauqua tax collector was Republican James R. Delbertis, so he will run unopposed in the fall.

Also in Catasauqua, there was some opposition on the ballot for the position of inspector of election. On the Democratic ballot, candidate Kathleen Knecht ran successfully over Sharon Kressler in District 1, with no Republican candidates. In District 3, Democrat Marian DeLong was unopposed. She will run against Rebublican candidate Diane Laubach, who received more unofficial votes than Kaitlyn M. Delbertis.

District Judge Michael D’Amore crossfiled on both parties’ ballots. Running unopposed, he is expected to be re-elected to Magisterial District 31-1-05, serving Wards 14 and 15, which include Hanover Township and Catasaqua Borough.

Hanover Township voters saw no-contest races on their primary ballots. With three seats up for election, the ballot showed Democrat Bruce E. Paulus and Republicans H. Curtis Wegfahrt and Bob Heimbacker. All are running for re-election to four-year terms.

In North Catasauqua, four four-year terms on the borough council are open. With three Democrats and two Republicans on the primary ballot, all candidates were passed through to the fall ballot: Democrats Cherie Gebhardt, Joseph T. Keglovits and John Yanek are all incumbents; and incumbent Peter Paone and challenger Mark Gioielli are Republicans.

Democratic Mayor William J. Molchany Jr. ran for re-election, unopposed.

On the ballot for the Catasauqua Area School Board positions were Dale K. Hein, who cross-filed for both four-year and two-year terms, and Democrat Jason M. Bashaw. Catasauqua, North Catasauqua and Hanover Township voters gave them the nod for appearance on the fall ballot as well. Four seats are open on the school board, but the ballot shows only these two candidates.

Local winners chosen for the fall election also include Democrat Amy Zanelli, who was chosen over hopefuls Basilio Bonilla Jr. and Dennis Pearson as her party’s candidate for the Lehigh County District 3 commissioner seat. In November, Zanelli will face off against Republican candidate Robert E. Smith Jr., who ran unopposed in the primary. The winner will serve a four-year term.