Catasauqua Press

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Board approves positions for 2017-18

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 by MARK RECCEK Special to the Press in Local News

A number of positions were approved for the 2017-18 academic year by the Catasauqua School Board.

The board at its Sept. 11 meeting approved, by a vote of 4-0, a number of positions. Abstaining from the vote, citing personal conflict issues, was board member Dale Hein.

Those approved were four noninstructional aides, Joan Korp, Valerie Billowitch, Tina Marie Thomas and Janice Kovacs.

Also, two were approved as substitute teachers were Erin Stramitis and Heather Kaswandik.

Guest teachers approved are Matthew Allen, Stephanie Funk, Audrey Hackett, Kathleen Hudak, Preston Kucscan, Russell Lande, James Lapinski, Jalen Nichols, Cory Thomas, Gregory Williams and Robert Zweifel.

The board also approved extracurricular positions for the new year, including Steven Bradley as the Catasauqua High School head baseball coach, with a stipend of $5,399, and Eric Snyder, Steven Ritter and Andrew Oswald as CHS assistant baseball coaches. Snyder will receive a stipend of $2,242 and Ritter and Oswald will receive $1,550.

David Burker and David Stires were approved as CHS assistant track coaches, with stipends of $2,671.

Barbara Kennedy is the Sheckler Elementary School book fair coordinator, with a stipend of $130, and Daniel Kotran is a Sheckler safety patrol advisor, with a stipend of $130.

Joshua Inman is the CHS junior class advisor, with a stipend of $1,467, and Janet Schmitt is CHS National Honor Society advisor, with a stipend of $1,299.

During the meeting, the board also approved Kirsten DeMatto as a guidance counselor intern at Sheckler Elementary School, effective Aug. 28 to May 4, 2018.

Not present for the votes were board President Penny Hahn, Vice President Carol Cunningham and board member Mary Alice Hartranft.

The board is schedule to hold its next meeting 7 p.m. Oct. 10 in the district administration office board room, 201 N. 14th St.