Catasauqua Press

Friday, September 20, 2019
Whitehall Township Mayor Edward D. Hozza Jr. Whitehall Township Mayor Edward D. Hozza Jr.

Whitehall mayor chosen for position with Lehigh County

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Local News

Executive picks Hozza as director of administration

Lehigh County Executive Phillips Armstrong has selected Whitehall Township Mayor Edward D. Hozza Jr. to be his new director of administration.

“Mayor Hozza will bring a proven track record of versatile and strategic leadership and a strong command of the issues and concerns of municipalities and townships throughout Lehigh County,” Armstrong said.

Whitehall Township is one of the Lehigh Valley’s larger communities, consisting of 28,500 residents. Hozza is responsible for overseeing all government functions of the township, including public safety, public works, parks and recreation, economic development and administration. The township employs 116 full-time staff, 125 volunteer firefighters and more than 100 seasonal part-time staff. The parks and recreation department maintains over 300 acres of open space, three outdoor swimming pools and three trail networks.

Hozza was first elected Whitehall Township executive in 2007, before encouraging the township to create a full-time mayor position in order to enhance Whitehall’s standing. He has occupied the mayor’s office since 2008.

Hozza is a member of the Lehigh Valley Planning Commission and its transportation subcommittee, Pennsylvania State Mayors’ Association and its executive board and Pennsylvania League of Cities and Municipalities, as well as the Lehigh Valley Chamber of Commerce Board of Governors.

He was selected as the 2010 and 2017 Lehigh Valley Chamber of Commerce Mayor of the Year.

He is a graduate of DeSales University with a B.A. in business management and a minor in marketing. He spent 23 years working in the private sector at Nabisco Food Group and Alza Pharmaceuticals prior to entering government.

Hozza will require approval by the Lehigh County Board of Commissioners.