Catasauqua Press

Monday, January 21, 2019
Panthers top Catasauqua at D-11 duals Panthers top Catasauqua at D-11 duals

Panthers top Catasauqua at D-11 duals

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 by PATRICK MATSINKO in Sports

The Panthers advanced to the quarterfinals – and guaranteed themselves a spot in the second day of the tournament – with a dominant 53-30 win over No. 11 Catasauqua to open District 11 duals.

Panther Valley won the first nine bouts, getting pins in eight of them, to build a 53-0 lead. The Panthers forfeited the final five matches.

“I thought we were favored up top in every weight class, but you still gotta go out and do it, and they did,” said PV coach Tim Robb.

“We bumped up until 195, and I thought we could win every match from 145 up, and that’s kind of how it worked out.”

Some of those falls came in short order, while others were more dramatic.

Trailing 18-10 in the opening match, Alex Candelerio pinned Benjamin Langsdorf with just nine seconds remaining to open things up for the Panthers.

Justin Ogozalek (145), Xander Kern (152), Noah Berk (160), Hunter Kennedy (182), Derrick Beckham (195), Chris Walkinshaw (220) and Aaron Eidem (285) also had pins, while Tanner Kennedy (170) won by technical fall to grab bonus points for Panther Valley.

The Panthers then faced Northwestern where they fell 61-9.

Saucon Valley won the 2A title beating Wilson and the Warriors ended up beating the Tigers twice to advance to states as the District 11 second seed.

Panther Valley 53,

Catasauqua 30

138 – Alex Candelerio (PV) pinned Benjamin Langsdorf in 5:51; 145 – Justin Ogozalek (PV) pinned Sebastian Henry in 1:10; 152 – Xander Kern (PV) pinned Austin Gorr in 1:59; 160 – Noah Berk (PV) pinned Bradley Panto in 5:26; 170 – Tanner Kennedy (PV) tech. fall Jack Minogue, 19-1 (4:30); 182 – Hunter Kennedy (PV) pinned Jacob Latsch in 3:40; 195 – Derrick Beckham (PV) pinned Adam Reinhart in 3:42; 220 – Chris Walkinshaw (PV) pinned Douglas Scott in 0:35; 285 – Aaron Eidem (PV) pinned Lavonte Bouie in 3:33; 106 – Jacob Nye (Cat) won by forfeit; 113 – Austin Brett (Cat) won by forfeit; 120 – Tyler Melendez (Cat) won by forfeit; 126 – Oscar Gordon (Cat) won by forfeit;132 – Derrick Rodriguez (Cat) won by forfeit.