Catasauqua Press

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

District makes approvals for 2019-20 school year

Wednesday, August 21, 2019 by Samantha Anderson in Local News

Catasauqua Area School District Board of Education met Aug. 13 to finalize preparations for the 2019-20 school year.

The board approved mentor teachers for the school year. These teachers will help guide the new hires and ease the transition.

At Catasauqua High School, Paula Semmel will mentor Alexander Hess; Jon Lenert will mentor Kelly Robertson; Mike Baclawski will mentor Meghan Hinkle; and Allison Dolak will mentor Eamon Murray. Kyle Rusnock will mentor Derek Saltzgiver at Catasauqua Middle School. At Sheckler Elementary School, Tina Snyder will mentor Brandon Keks; and Jaclyn Nielson will mentor Jennifer Schmidt.

Several teachers were also approved for tenure, having successfully completed three years in the schools. Leslie Estrada and Elyse Gair were approved at CHS; Lindsey Hollingsworth, Kimmie Miller and James Snyder were approved at CMS; and Brett Zieber was approved at Sheckler Elementary.

Also among the board decisions were the approvals of certified and noncertified instructional aides, as well as numerous extracurricular positions in the district.

Linda Morgan, a cafeteria worker at Sheckler, was approved for retirement. Lisandra Collazo, a noncertified instructional aide at CMS, was also approved to resign.

The board also approved the appointment of Rosa Cortes and Annette Noll, general kitchen help at CMS; Theresa Armbruster, general kitchen help at Sheckler; Marissa Montanez, districtwide part-time student custodian; and Jordan Nonemaker, substitute districtwide part-time student custodian.

In preparation for the first day of school in the district, Aug. 26, the school board made sure to approve the handbooks and student guidelines for all three schools.

The agreement with Salisbury Mental Health Inc. to provide services in the district through June 30, 2020, was also approved at the meeting.

The board gave a warm welcome to one of the new student representatives, Jacob Drummer, and the new assistant principal at CMS, Greg Freeman.

The CASD school board next meets 7 p.m. Sept. 10 in the board room in the district administration building, 201 N. 14th St.