Catasauqua Press

Monday, July 13, 2020

Another View

Wednesday, July 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

If you can read this, thank a teacher

There are teachers in my family tree.

Three of my father’s sisters taught elementary school in Delaware County.

My sister taught preschool and elementary school at The Swain School in Salisbury Township for many years — some of those years while I was still a student in what was then called “upper school” there, before she changed careers.

As her sibling, I was often drafted into the end-of-year cleaning out and start-of-year decorating of her various classrooms.

Guest View

Wednesday, July 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Follow fireworks rules, restrictions

As the July Fourth holiday draws closer, so do the calls and complaints to my office about fireworks activity.

This year, it seems as though the annual tradition in communities here and across the commonwealth has reached a heightened level of activity. Perhaps one might say people are especially keen on releasing extra stress brought out by the COVID-19 pandemic and the quarantine that halted get-togethers.

Another View

Wednesday, July 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Staying on top of the summer slide

My son, Benjamin, and I recently finished reading “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” by Roald Dahl. I am not sure who enjoyed the book more — he or I! Dahl provides children and adults great imagination through text.

Ben, who is only 3, and I love to create a picture in our minds from the chapters I read to him. He got such a kick out of the character Violet Beauregarde turning into a blueberry and the Oompa-Loompas rolling her around. We laughed for a few minutes!

Ben’s next choice to read is “James and the Giant Peach,” another popular book by Dahl.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 24, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Whitehall-Coplay School Board should hold the line on taxes

To the Editor:

I was astonished when I picked up my local paper June 11 and read how the Whitehall(-Coplay) School Board voted to increase property taxes 4.5 percent.

During a time with record unemployed and families struggling to pay bills, the board voted to increase taxes again to the homeowners. While other school districts are holding the line or implementing zero increases and another with no teacher salary increase, Whitehall(-Coplay School Board) just can’t help themselves and passed this budget.

Living the Vintage Years: We cannot judge another individual’s quality of life

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

An acquaintance I encountered last week said he and his wife are caring for her frail, elderly mother in their home.

“I don’t know why she keeps hanging on,” he lamented. “She has no quality of life left.”

“Maybe she’s not ready,” I replied.

I could have said much more, but I bit my tongue.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Pandemic has changed our lives

The great COVID-19 shutdown changed lives for a lot of people.

More people are unemployed than in recent history. Some of us are working harder than ever.

Front-line workers who never worried about getting sick — or dying — from exposure at their jobs are now paying attention to having the right protective gear.

Some people are isolated and lonely. Another faction says the numbers are inaccurate and they are angry about staying home, wearing a mask and being restricted.

Fighting Hunger: Summer tips for prepping food, cooking

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 by SHARI NOCTOR WHITEHALL-COPLAY HUNGER INITIATIVE PRESIDENT in Opinion

As you all know, Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative works with food, though we are not preparing meals right now with our current outreach programs. I have not allowed any refrigerated or freezer items to be accepted or distributed and have turned away eggs, meats, etc., that have been offered to me this spring.

Another view

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Observations from the patio

Pennsylvania entered the yellow phase of Gov. Tom Wolf’s reopening plan June 5. One of the changes in the yellow phase is the allowance of outdoor dining at restaurants.

This has opened the door for Pennsylvania residents to get out of the house, sit at their favorite eatery and be served food and drink for the first time since mid-March.

And, boy, did people take advantage of the opportunity.