Catasauqua Press

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Another view

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Back-to-school time is upon us once again

It seems as if the end of the school year was just last week. But here we are, Aug. 16, and Whitehall-Coplay, Northampton and Catasauqua schools begin classes Aug. 27.

Since August is when students return to school, this month is National Back to School Month.

According to nationaldaycalendar.com, “National Back to School Month has been observed since the 1960s.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, August 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is it really worth driving around those barricades?

As the rain continued to fall Friday night and our local waterways rose ever higher, emergency personnel sounded the alarm, alerting residents a flash flood warning was in effect.

Cue the thunder, lightning and blinding downpours.

All phones in my house began to blare with the emergency notification, a signal not easily ignored. Police and fire departments posted messages on social media to tell residents of road closings due to creeks and streams spilling over their banks.

In the Lehigh Valley, 3-plus inches of rain had fallen from noon Friday to 8 a.m. Saturday.

Another view

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Share a beer with a friend on International Beer Day Aug. 3

“What care I how time advances? I am drinking ale today.” — Edgar Allan Poe

Beer lovers around the world are looking forward to a different kind of holiday. International Beer Day (IBD) will be celebrated Aug. 3 this year.

According to the official International Beer Day website, this event has taken place the first Friday in August since its inception in 2007 and is celebrated globally in 200 cities across 80 countries and six continents. The day is intended to “unite the world through beer.”

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mako responds to Press article

To the Editor:

This letter is in response to a Northampton Press article in the July 26 edition titled “Council discusses options regarding fireworks laws.”

I voted against Act 43 of 2017, which expanded the types of fireworks Pennsylvania residents could purchase and use. The article implied I voted for the law, which is not correct.

While this law contained several new tax provisions, one of the main reasons I opposed it was due to the fireworks expansion. My office has heard from numerous constituents on this issue in the past several weeks.

On the Homefront: Children sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!” Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The last straw

National and local news reports over the last several weeks have focused on efforts by environmentalists to ban plastic straws, which endanger marine life once they make their way to the oceans and apparently live on forever in landfills.

McDonald’s began the movement, announcing June 4 that biodegradable paper straws would be used throughout the United Kingdom by 2019.

The company also said it would begin testing plastic straw alternatives in the United States later this year.

McDonald’s CEO Steve Easterbrook spoke with CNBC’s “Squawk on the Street” in early June.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Learn the dangers of swimming

After the excessive heat wave in the Lehigh Valley, I overheard some of my neighbors talking about taking their kids to a local water park.

Shortly after hearing that conversation, I received an alert from wedmd.com about an article titled “July Is Peak Time for Illness from Feces in Pools.”

The article, dated June 28 and written by E.J. Mundell, talked about the safety of recreational swimming in summer.

Summer is a time when many Americans spend their days swimming at water parks, community and family pools, lakes and ponds.

Fighting Hunger: Summer breakfast camp is a success at additional locations

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I am so grateful for the kindness and support received from so many faith-based organizations, residents and businesses that are helping make our second year of the Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative’s free summer breakfast camp for Whitehall and Coplay school-age residents such a success! The kids are having a blast, and we hope more people will come out since we do so much more than provide a hot and cold breakfast.

These kids are having a great time with our themed weeks.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Tragedy at Capital Gazette hits close to home

The tragedy at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis hit close to home for me and two of my colleagues. Brad Simpson, chief financial officer, Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association; Robin Quillon, publisher of The Tribune-Democrat in Johnstown; and myself were meeting in a conference room just outside of the newsroom at the same newspaper that would be the topic of breaking news just a couple of hours later.

I remember one victim who walked by me — sunglasses, hat and a grumpy hello, and I said to myself ... ‘Yeah, he is a news guy.’

Journalists matter.