Catasauqua Press

Friday, November 24, 2017

another view

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform that allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends. The most popular feature is that these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother. Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends — and then it’s gone.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another pet.

I’ve written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years. Both pets died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My editorials in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Stereotype of working poor often untrue

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are many working poor people living right here in Whitehall and Coplay. Sad as it is, this is virtually everywhere in the United States today. Let me try to explain what is happening.

Pennsylvania’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current federal minimum wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Pennsylvania with limited exceptions, including tipped employees, some student workers and other exempt occupations.

The Pennsylvania minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.10 from $7.15 to $7.25.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

School taxes continue to be burden on seniors

To the Editor:

Northampton Area School District has decided to replace Lehigh Elementary School with a new building complex.

While I don’t know the details, I will accept the fact there is a need for some kind of improvement and/or maintenance upgrades. But is that because things might have been neglected for too long? It does seem odd that the price of renovations is so close to the price of new construction. Usually, renovation costs are much less than new construction costs.

Another View

Wednesday, November 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Thank a veteran and his or her family members, too

President Donald Trump recently proclaimed November 2017 as National Veterans and Military Families Month.

Veterans Day, Nov. 11, is the time American people nationally thank veterans for their courage, sacrifices and years of service.

Trump’s proclamation begins: “During National Veterans and Military Families Month, we honor the significant contributions made by American service members, their families and their loved ones.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The business of Halloween is big — $9.1 million BIG

When did purple become a Halloween color? And, for that matter, what about green?

Purple may be the harder to pinpoint. But green? The easy answer is when Halloween became such big business.

According to statistics from the National Retail Federation and Prosper Insights & Analytics released in September, U.S. residents are expected to spend a record-breaking $9.1 billion on Halloween this year.

And that total is up a little over 8 percent from 2016 when sales touched $8.3 billion, also a record.

Another view

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The age-old debate of birth control medication really needs to end

Talk to any woman you know, and there’s a good chance she has used birth control medication at some point in her life.

In fact, according to a December 2014 Center for Disease Control and Prevention article on a National Survey of Family Growth study, 2011-13, “61.7 percent of the 60.9 million women aged 15-44 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 11, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all still in this life together’

Nearly 60 people were killed and more than 400 injured Oct. 2 when 64-year-old Stephen Paddock opened fire on attendees of an outdoor country music festival in Las Vegas. In the days since, we’ve read about or heard from survivors of the attack, who detailed the chaos and confusion during those moments.

Thousands were at this sold-out three-day concert, Route 91 Harvest Festival, which featured country music stars like Eric Church and Sam Hunt. Jason Aldean was on stage when the gunfire erupted. He is said to have called the scene “beyond horrific.”