Catasauqua Press

Thursday, March 30, 2017

For well-being, make right move

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I am a person who doesn’t like change.

In our fast-changing world, that’s not a good way to be, I guess — but it’s the way I am. Usually, I don’t think about the subject much, but this past weekend, three things happened that put the focus on change and got my attention.

A friend in New Jersey told me she is selling her home and car and moving to a continuing-care retirement community.

Another friend, who, for financial reasons, had moved to a senior high-rise apartment and hated his new living arrangements, died.

Too much, too little, too soon

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “overindulged children”? I always thought of kids who had a lot of stuff and opportunities. You know — the kind of kids who rarely hear the word “no” and seem to get everything they want. The kind who act bratty and entitled.

But a recent read of a book called “How Much Is Too Much?” by Jean Illsley Clark, Ph.D., expanded my perception of what overindulgence really is. And to my surprise, my score on a questionnaire I completed in the back of the book classified me as one who unintentionally overindulges my kids a bit.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Punishment for littering has to hurt in order to be effective

I remember the commercial from my childhood: a Native American standing roadside, a tear rolling down his cheek as he sees the beauty of the landscape stripped away by litter.

That public service announcement, part of the Keep America Beautiful campaign, first aired in 1971.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Maybe the Secret Service should watch ‘The Wild, Wild West’

During the late ’60s, and now in reruns, the television series “The Wild, Wild West” featured two Secret Service agents, James West, played by Robert Conrad, and Artemus Gordon, played by Ross Martin.

In 1999, the futuristic western, set in the late 1860s and ’70s, was made into a movie featuring Will Smith as West and Kevin Kline as Gordon.

Through the use of Jules Verne-sque gadgets and weapons, the duo were tasked with protecting the 18th president of the United States, Ulysses S. Grant, and saving the country from the evildoers of all stripes.

Another View

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How altruistic are you?

Every day, someone becomes a victim of a crime. And, then there are those who risk their own lives and safety to help those in need.

When Daniel DeTurck, of Reading, Berks County, saw an Amber Alert Jan. 3 on his phone asking the public’s help to locate an infant abducted by alleged murder suspect Antonio Velazquez-Rupert, DeTurck didn’t hesitate to help.

When DeTurck, a security guard, saw a vehicle matching the description in the Amber Alert, he dialed 911 and took off after the vehicle — with no thought for his own safety or personal situation.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A very ‘Lucky’ adventure

Everyone loves a little adventure now and then, especially when you are a 3-1/2-year-old black and tan tabby named Lucky from Lower Macungie.

Oh, and did I mention he is blind?

On March 1, Lucky began his adventure around 1:15 a.m., somehow living the life of an escape artist and leaving the comforts of his home in the Ancient Oaks West development.

A flier was placed on social media sites and sent to various news outlets asking for help in locating the escapee March 2.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wisdom in the age of dementia

Last week, former teen idol David Cassidy announced his dementia diagnosis.

According to media reports, the singer and television star, who once was the object of numerous fan clubs and had the ability to pack music venues with screaming tween and teenage girls, was struggling to remember lyrics to his songs while on tour.

Musician Glen Campbell announced his diagnosis of Alzheimer’s in June 2011 and headlined a farewell tour, with three of his children in the band, to perform for fans.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Cat owner questions officer’s promotion

To the Editor:

We just read the Catasauqua Press Feb. 23 article about the new animal control policy in North Catasauqua. It sounds wonderful and would have helped our little Sugar.

Funny, though, how the borough never asked or tried to get any community involvement on the matter. My family for sure has some great ideas. They didn’t even have the courtesy to say anything to us about this upcoming policy change. This could’ve been a measure of good faith between the borough and its residents. We never even got an informal apology from the borough or the officer in question.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Who gets to decide the legitimacy of the media?

Recently, newly elected U.S. President Donald Trump has been questioning and bashing the media for its reporting of his administration.

Trump calls the media that has done its job by asking the hard questions “fake news.”

Just this past week, the White House barred The New York Times and CNN from press briefings.

I don’t know about you, but I find Trump’s criticism and excluding media outlets from briefings alarming.