Catasauqua Press

Monday, October 15, 2018

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

’Tis the season for flu prevention

It’s October and that means, for me at least, it is time for a flu shot.

On the record, I don’t like getting flu shots, although the anticipation really is the worst part. The shot itself is over in moments. The paperwork takes longer than the physical needle stick.

However, the flu shot is better than being sick, homemade chicken noodle soup notwithstanding.

And this year, the shot may be more important than ever.

Living the Vintage Years: Rx for quality health care begins with education

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I walked into the room in the middle of a loud argument.

My relative’s roommate in a health care facility was angry with staff for not getting him bathed and dressed by lunchtime. He was still in bed in his nightclothes. When one of his relatives came to visit, he told her what had happened, and she reported his grievance to the facility’s nurse and administrator.

Ever since, he has been dressed and groomed at a reasonable morning hour.

It pays to have an advocate to watchdog and speak up on behalf of a hospital patient or health care facility resident.

Another View

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A voice for the millions

Many Americans tuned in Sept. 27 to live coverage of the testimony hearing of Dr. Christine Blasey Ford and Supreme Court Justice nominee and U.S. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh before the Senate Judiciary Committee. If you were like me, you were hanging on to every word of Blasey Ford and Kavanaugh. Additionally, if you were like me, you were personally familiar with the actions (or similar actions), responses and feelings she described of the alleged summer 1982 sexual assault in Maryland.

There have been two other women who made allegations against Kavanaugh as well.

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Only yes means yes

The year Jeanne Anne Clery was raped and murdered in her dorm room at Lehigh University, I was a freshman at nearby Moravian College in Bethlehem.

On April 5, 1986, Clery awoke during an attempted robbery by Josoph Henry, a fellow student at Lehigh, who beat, cut, raped, sodomized and strangled her. She was a freshman. He was a sophomore. During his trial, he claimed alcohol consumption caused his crime. The state rejected the argument. He is serving a life sentence in prison.

Another view

Wednesday, September 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s talk about it

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. This is a time to forget the stigma surrounding suicide and to share our stories and resources as a lifeline to others.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) lists suicide as the 10th leading cause of death in the United States. The World Health Organization (WHO) recognizes suicide as a public health priority and reports approximately 800,000 people die from suicide every year.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Lest we forget!

Tuesday was the 17th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center in New York City, N.Y., the Pentagon in Arlington County, Va., and the crash of Flight 93 into a field in Shanksville, Somerset County.

On July 25, the remains of a 26-year-old man who worked at the World Trade Center were identified as a result of advanced DNA testing.

The remains of Scott Michael Johnson, which were recovered after the attack, were identified by the forensic biology division of the New York City medical examiner’s office.

Fighting Hunger: Attendance increased at summer breakfast camps

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

We were very fortunate to have three separate breakfast camps open this year from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m., Monday through Friday, from June 18 to Aug. 24. The program started when school finished and before school started once again. This was open and free to any resident of the Whitehall-Coplay School District in kindergarten through 12th grade.

The camps were hosted by St. John’s Lutheran Church, 835 Third St., Fullerton; Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church, 4331 Main St., Egypt; and Redeemed Christian Church of God, 5 N. Third St., Coplay.

We had three goals.

Another View

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Brighten someone’s day; show a little kindness

I was recently touched emotionally when I read an article on nytimes.com about an Argentine police officer and another on foxnews.com on the celebrity Pink, both showing kindness to young children.

The first article, written by Ernesto Londono and published Aug. 23, is titled “Argentine police officer promoted after breastfeeding neglected baby.”

The article tells how Officer Celeste Ayala was promoted to sergeant after a photo of her breastfeeding a neglected baby at a hospital, while in uniform, went viral on the Internet.