Catasauqua Press

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Another view

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Women never stopped being great

Are you a poor, lonely, sad, single woman having a hard time finding the right man to take care of you? Have you forgotten how to be a woman? Have no fear, the men of the manosphere are here to save you and re-educate you in how to be a “proper” woman.

Don’t miss The 22 Convention: Make Women Great Again, planned for May 1-3 in Orlando, Fla. At this convention, the roster of all-male speakers promises to “help you dramatically improve your life as a woman and total femininity.”

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Images ....

Born in the 1950s, I have lived in or through seven decades as we enter this new year.

Never did I consider the year 2020. Graduation dates — from high school, from college — were the milestones to be reached.

Maybe it’s the symmetry of the numerals — 20 and 20 — that has led to this journey through mental imagery.

I remember being escorted single file to the lowest level of my elementary school and told to face the concrete wall outside the boiler room.

Another View

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Seeking mental health care should not come with a stigma attached

Everyone, from time to time, experiences emotional ups and downs caused by events in his or her life or from more severe clinical mental health conditions.

Many individuals suffer in silence and do not seek help from mental health care professionals for fear of being judged by family, friends or co-workers.

Oprah recently discussed mental health issues with singer Lady Gaga during the first of several interviews in Oprah’s “2020 Vision: Your Life in Focus” cross-country tour.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, December 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

We can’t ignore global warming, not with Greta Thunberg leading the way

When my children were younger, a favorite 1996 movie was “Alaska,” a story about two children who searched for their missing father in the mountains of Alaska. Along the way, the two learn valuable lessons and meet a baby polar bear on the run from poachers. My children loved the adventures of the baby polar bear. My youngest son had a stuffed polar bear we affectionately named “Cubby” from the movie.

So should we be concerned about the images we see of the starving polar bears in Alaska losing their homes?

ANOTHER VIEW

Monday, December 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Bringing back civility one door at time

A workday morning and things were not going well so far.

Leaving home later than planned. No time for breakfast. Traffic to work heavier than expected.

And the gas gauge was closer to E than F.

In a hurry, I was distracted, mentally calculating if I would be on time, when the door of Wawa, Cedar Crest Boulevard, South Whitehall Township, miraculously stood open.

A tall man, bundled up against an unexpectedly cold late fall morning, held the door wide.

I probably stumbled a little as I stammered my startled thanks.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

No place for holiday dinner

To the Editor:

The Catasauqua Area Lions Club will not be holding its annual holiday dinner for the elderly and indigent this year.

St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Catasauqua, the location where the meal was held, closed forever and is being converted into a Muslim mosque.

Its fellowship hall was the only venue in town suitable to hold the event.

Muslims do not celebrate Christmas, so the new owners of the former church are not interested in allowing the hall to be used for holding the meal.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Call to decry Methodist bishop

To the Editor:

• Percent of Americans 70 years or older who are Bible-believing Christians — 65 percent

• Percent of Americans 35 years or younger who are Bible-believing Christians — 4 percent

• Percent of bishops in the Northern District for the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference of the United Methodist Church who are Bible-believing Christians — zero percent

The bishop publicly took a position against Jesus’ definition of sacred Christian marriage and supported one that was against what Jesus taught.

Another View

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Womanikin to the rescue

I hope I am never in a situation when I would need cardiopulmonary resuscitation. But if I ever am, I also hope any individuals around me do not hesitate to perform CPR.

In a Dec. 7 NPR article titled “Meet the Womanikin — the breasted vest working to close the CPR gender gap,” Rachel Treisman writes, “Research shows that bystanders are less likely to perform CPR on women than men, and experts say superficial anatomical differences may lead people to assume chest compression must be performed differently on men and women, which is not true.”

Editor’s View

Wednesday, December 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are those Black Friday, Cyber Monday deals still available?

The date was Dec. 2, a Monday — and a particularly busy day for me at work.

I stayed focused on my to-do list, so I could head out the door on time. It was Cyber Monday, and I had a mission.

I rushed home from the office, opened my laptop and systematically attacked my family’s Christmas lists, finishing the orders before anyone else got home that afternoon. What a sense of accomplishment at having gotten such great deals!