Catasauqua Press

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Sewer problems need attention

To the Editor:

I am a rate payer in the [Coplay Whitehall Sewer Authority] system. My son and I have been before the CWSA board several times trying to get our sewer problems resolved, but we have not had any substantive results.

My son spent the month of August 2018 dealing with sewage backflows in his basement. On the last occasion, CWSA was called to respond to a severe sewer backflow after a heavy rainstorm. Personnel on site confirmed a sewer backflow. The backflow stopped shortly after the heavy rain stopped.

Another View

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Step into spring with a goal of reducing your credit card debt

When was the last time you used a credit card to make a purchase? Was it last week? A couple days ago? Or was it even sometime today?

According to cnbc.com’s Jan. 23, 2018, article titled “Credit card debt hits a record high; it’s time to pay off your debt,” Jessica Dickler writes, “The average American has a credit card balance of $6,375, up nearly 3 percent from [2017], according to Experian’s annual study on the state of credit and debt in America.

On the Homefront: Marriage requires work, communication, outside resources

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by DENISE CONTINENZA in Opinion

A funny tale pops up when people talk about marriage and anniversaries: A couple was celebrating their golden anniversary by renewing their vows. At the conclusion of the little ceremony, their pastor congratulated them on 50 years of marriage and posed to them one question: “At any point along the way, did divorce ever cross your minds?”

The husband responded with a quick “No, never.” The wife nodded in agreement and said, “Divorce, no. Murder, yes.”

And such is the stuff that marriages are made of.

Fighting Hunger: How will you help those in your community?

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I was thinking about what I was going to write this month. Sometimes, it takes a few days to think of something meaningful.

I turned my National Wildlife Federation calendar that I received in the mail to February, and there was a quote from Jane Goodall: “The most important thing, as I am constantly saying, is to think about small ways in which we can make a difference — every day.”

This was a sign to me that this is what I am supposed to write about this month.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Oh, the lessons we’ve learned

The story goes that one man challenged a second man to write a children’s book using only 50 different words.

The first man was Bennett Cerf, founder of the Random House publishing company. The second man was Theodor Geisel, author, political cartoonist and animator.

The outcome of the bet: $50 in Geisel’s pocket and a little book titled “Green Eggs and Ham.”

The challenge was a win-win really. Random House, in 1960, published the work, which has sold more than 8 million copies.

Another view

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages like “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.” However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

The original Sweethearts were made by New England Confectionery Company, better known as NECCO.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Eliminate school property taxes

To the Editor:

It’s that time again. The annual seizure of increased property taxes by our government schools system is upon us.

As in past years, we are given an amount the tax will increase; this year, it’s 3.79 percent, but we are told, “We are not going to finalize it at 3.79 percent.”

New year, same old story.

Where is the warehouse tax money going? How about a spending cut and tax decrease? That’s not likely to happen in the foreseeable future because we are now on the build-new-schools bandwagon. After Lehigh Elementary, which one will be next?

Another View

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Have we seen the last government shutdown over the border wall?

For 35 days, Americans watched as President Donald Trump shut down the federal government and was at an impasse with the U.S. House and Senate over $5.7 billion in funding for a border wall between the United States and Mexico.

This partial shutdown, which affected federal agencies including the Transportation Security Administration, Centers for Disease Control, the Food and Drug Administration, law enforcement agencies, and parks and museums, left 380,000 federal employees furloughed and 420,000 employees working without pay.