Catasauqua Press

Monday, September 24, 2018

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mako responds to Press article

To the Editor:

This letter is in response to a Northampton Press article in the July 26 edition titled “Council discusses options regarding fireworks laws.”

I voted against Act 43 of 2017, which expanded the types of fireworks Pennsylvania residents could purchase and use. The article implied I voted for the law, which is not correct.

While this law contained several new tax provisions, one of the main reasons I opposed it was due to the fireworks expansion. My office has heard from numerous constituents on this issue in the past several weeks.

On the Homefront: Children sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!” Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The last straw

National and local news reports over the last several weeks have focused on efforts by environmentalists to ban plastic straws, which endanger marine life once they make their way to the oceans and apparently live on forever in landfills.

McDonald’s began the movement, announcing June 4 that biodegradable paper straws would be used throughout the United Kingdom by 2019.

The company also said it would begin testing plastic straw alternatives in the United States later this year.

McDonald’s CEO Steve Easterbrook spoke with CNBC’s “Squawk on the Street” in early June.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Learn the dangers of swimming

After the excessive heat wave in the Lehigh Valley, I overheard some of my neighbors talking about taking their kids to a local water park.

Shortly after hearing that conversation, I received an alert from wedmd.com about an article titled “July Is Peak Time for Illness from Feces in Pools.”

The article, dated June 28 and written by E.J. Mundell, talked about the safety of recreational swimming in summer.

Summer is a time when many Americans spend their days swimming at water parks, community and family pools, lakes and ponds.

Fighting Hunger: Summer breakfast camp is a success at additional locations

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I am so grateful for the kindness and support received from so many faith-based organizations, residents and businesses that are helping make our second year of the Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative’s free summer breakfast camp for Whitehall and Coplay school-age residents such a success! The kids are having a blast, and we hope more people will come out since we do so much more than provide a hot and cold breakfast.

These kids are having a great time with our themed weeks.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Tragedy at Capital Gazette hits close to home

The tragedy at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis hit close to home for me and two of my colleagues. Brad Simpson, chief financial officer, Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association; Robin Quillon, publisher of The Tribune-Democrat in Johnstown; and myself were meeting in a conference room just outside of the newsroom at the same newspaper that would be the topic of breaking news just a couple of hours later.

I remember one victim who walked by me — sunglasses, hat and a grumpy hello, and I said to myself ... ‘Yeah, he is a news guy.’

Journalists matter.

Living the Vintage Years

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Happiness grows in my garden

Since childhood, I have loved to play in the dirt. Mud pies were my specialty back then.

So one can only imagine how excited I am each spring to get out in the yard and start planning and planting.

This season threw me a curve ball, however.

From overuse and advancing age, I managed to tear the meniscus in my left knee.

Pain made bending and kneeling, not to mention walking and standing, almost unbearable.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A reading adventure awaits at the library

An old, yellowed newspaper clipping is secured on my refrigerator with a magnet. It reads:

“You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be — I had a mother who read to me,” from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillilan in “The Read Aloud Handbook”

I put this quote on my refrigerator when I was pregnant with my first child, approximately 25 years ago. I learned if I read to my children before they were born, they would recognize my voice after they were born, and that was true.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Me Too (and money?) bring change to Miss America contest

Miss America 2.0. Coming soon: New website. New show. New experience.

Previous winners of the popular pageant are casting their own votes now, after last week’s announcement that the Miss America organization will eliminate its swimsuit and evening gown contests from the 97-year-old event.

Gretchen Carlson, the newly named chairwoman of the Miss America board of directors and herself a winner of the pageant, also announced it was no longer to be considered a pageant, but rather a competition.