Catasauqua Press

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, August 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Saying good riddance to No Child Left Behind

When school doors open later this month or right after Labor Day, the controversial No Child Left Behind Act will be on its way out, and the Every Student Succeeds Act will be on its way in, although full implementation will not begin until the 2018-19 school year.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

According to the U.S. Department of Education, this bipartisan measure reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act, the national education law and long-standing commitment to equal opportunity for all students.

Another View

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Is keeping a pet ethical?

I recently started reading the book “Run, Spot, Run” by Jessica Pierce, a bioethicist, after reading an interview where she discussed the ethics of keeping a pet.

In an Aug. 1 theguardian.com article, “Should We Stop Keeping Pets? Why More and More Ethicists Say Yes,” by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie, Pierce said she began questioning the idea of pet ownership after she saw a man bring a tub of live baby rats to her local pet store, as she was purchasing crickets for her daughter’s gecko.

The world is our classroom

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

I am a lifelong student. I try to learn something new every day. No, I don’t sit in a classroom semester after semester, year after year or take courses on the Internet; although, I would enjoy both of those pursuits, too.

I always loved school, from first grade through grad school. To me, the whole world is a gigantic classroom, full of fascinating free lessons for all of us. Some folks partake of this wonderful opportunity to gain more knowledge, while others pass up the chance.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Allen Township is no longer rural

To the Editor:

We have two current critical problems in Allen Township.

Problem 1 — more warehouses are coming to Allen Township (Route 329 and Howertown, Seemsville and Weaversville roads will be disasters). How nice.

The residents don’t want it, but big money (Jaindl, Liberty Property Trust, Rockefeller Group, etc.) does and could care less about the local residents. Just ask the residents of the Macungie and Alburtis areas. And, if the residents and the township say, “No,” we get sued.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Coming together to support a colleague

The world was rocked July 19 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., had been diagnosed with a primary brain tumor known as glioblastoma following a procedure to remove a blood clot from above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

“The senator and his family are reviewing further treatment options with his Mayo Clinic care team. Treatment options may include a combination of chemotherapy and radiation,” according to a statement by Mayo Clinic released July 19.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Proceed with caution

A TV commercial for a network of treatment centers encourages drug addicts to contact them for rehab. Another has New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie warning there is an epidemic of opioid addiction, but addicts have a way out.

“Help is within reach,” he says.

We have all seen these commercials, but perhaps you have not been — as I have — swallowing an oxycodone tablet while watching them.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It takes a village

Last week, people took to social media about an incident in the Village of Hokendauqua, Whitehall Township.

A neighborhood block had been taped off by police, cruisers and other emergency vehicles lined the street, and word spread that the coroner had been called to the scene because two bodies were discovered there.

Some surmised online that it was an overdose. Some suspected a murder-suicide. The latter might have seemed a bit far-fetched had Whitehall not had such a tragedy the week before.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate. My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden, and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher,” “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.