Catasauqua Press

Friday, November 24, 2017

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 7 Municipal Election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Judge Edward Smith’s decision on Lehigh County seal is a lemon

The secular zealots who originally challenged Lehigh County’s official seal in 2015 will not be happy until all symbols of Christianity are removed from public view.

The Freedom From Religion Foundation in Wisconsin, which supported four Lehigh Valley members’ efforts to have the Latin cross in the center of the county seal removed, must be smiling smugly after a federal judge’s decision Sept. 28.

U.S. District Court Judge Edward Smith upheld the group’s viewpoint — well, sort of — that the Latin cross should not be part of the county government’s official seal.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Celebrating the impact newspapers have on the community

National Newspaper Week is the time to celebrate the impact newspapers have on their communities and to recognize the dedicated individuals who work diligently so that you, the reader, receive the news and information that you want and need — day in and day out. A free press is more important than ever, and newspapers have always been at the forefront of serving our communities.

Another View

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stricter regulations, security measures needed at nursing homes

Every day, American families place their loved ones in nursing homes and trust they will be properly cared for by the staff.

Eight senior citizens died Sept. 13 from excessive heat inside the Rehabilitation Center at Hollywood Hills, Hollywood, Fla., when the nursing home’s air conditioning stopped working during a power loss and its backup generator failed after Hurricane Irma hit Florida Sept. 10.

editor’s view

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Equifax data breach means life will never be the same

Are you worried a complete stranger has your personal information?

It is very possible you are one of 143 million U.S. consumers to have had your birthday, Social Security number, driver’s license number, address and other personal information stolen from Equifax Inc.

I am “potentially” one of those consumers, according to the Equifax website.

Baffling to me is that, according to the announcement made Sept. 7, the breach was discovered July 29 and Equifax “acted immediately to stop the intrusion.”

Letter to the Editor: Northampton police officers help frightened child

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I just wanted to take a moment to thank the Northampton Borough Police Department. Two officers went out of their way to help us with our son.

Our 4-year-old son Lincoln has autism, and suddenly, he has become extremely frightened of police. (We are unsure if perhaps a siren startled him.)

We have had an awful week of being sleep deprived because of this new-found fear. Officer Dennis Smith helped coordinate to have Officer Ryan Konetsky stop by our home.

Letter to the Editor: Coplay councilman reflects on McNeill

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

State Rep. Mike Schlossberg called Danny McNeill larger than life, when we all heard that Danny was called back home Friday, Sept. 8. In so many ways, this is a true statement when describing Danny.

I would just like to share a few thoughts about Danny McNeill, my friend and state rep.

Danny was the perfect example of what being elected as a public official is all about. He served the people in the 133rd District. If anyone would ask Danny for help, he never asked what district you were from or whether you were a Democrat or Republican.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers.

Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10. I wrote of personal recollections of that day — vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister, who was in New York City that day, and others.