Catasauqua Press

Friday, May 25, 2018

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Fundraisers could help with repairs at skate park

To the Editor:

I am a Boy Scout from Troop 43 in Bath. I am writing this letter to raise awareness about our local skate park. I am not sending a complaint about this park; I am simply informing you about some of the issues I have encountered while skating here.

There are many cracks in the pavement and pebbles on the ramps, making it hard to ride smoothly. I know these difficulties because I have fallen there many times due to these issues.

Another view

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Gap Inc. normalizes breast-feeding in recent online ad

I’m one happy Gap customer. Not only do the company’s jeans fit me well, its ad posted online featuring a mother breast-feeding her child made me especially happy and proud.

During a recent photo shoot, Adaora Akubilo, the model in the photo, paused a moment during the shoot to breast-feed her son Arinze, who got hungry while she was working. The mother-and-son moment was posted on Instagram Feb. 22 with two photos and the hashtag #LoveByGapBody.

Some of the comments to the photos posted on Gap’s Instagram page include:

Summer breakfast camp is back for a second year

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

We are excited to begin the second year of our free summer breakfast camp in June for all Whitehall and Coplay school-age students — kindergarten through 12th grade. This summer camp will be held at St. John’s Evangelical Lutheran Church, 835 Third St., Fullerton. It will begin when school lets out in June and continue until the Friday before school is back in session in August.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Add a state day and a parade to Barkley’s list of achievements

You may know him as No. 26 — Saquon Barkley, the standout running back for Penn State’s Nittany Lions.

Here in the Whitehall-Coplay area, we know him simply as Sa-Sa, a Coplay resident and 2015 Whitehall High School graduate.

You might have seen him in the new Nike commercial, sporting the new Vapor Untouchable 3 football cleat.

You might have seen him in the Combine coverage on the NFL Network or videos on Twitter, running a 40-yard dash in just 4.41 seconds, putting up 29 reps of 225 pounds on the bench press and logging a 41-inch vertical.

Another view

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Dancers come together to honor shooting victim

In today’s world, it is so easy to focus on the negatives and only look at the unfortunate events. I personally choose to look past the sadness and heartbreak for the little glimmer of hope and goodness that always follows a tragedy.

The dance world is a tight-knit community. This was made especially clear after the tragic shooting Feb. 14 at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla. Dancers from all around the world came together after the shooting to honor the life and memory of Jaime Guttenberg, one of the victims.

What is best for families?

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thirty-five years ago, my husband and I attended a weekend retreat for engaged couples, a prerequisite for getting married in our church. A total of 23 couples participated in the event at a cozy sanctuary in the woods. Veteran married couples led the weekend’s activities, which included lecture, discussion, couple reflection time and worship.

When the retreat commenced on that Friday, we were introduced to a decorated box with an opening on top. We were encouraged to jot down and submit topics for discussion over wine and cheese the next evening.

Hunger insecurity doesn’t take a holiday

Wednesday, February 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Did you know: Food insecurity exists in every county in America? Fifty million Americans struggle to put food on the table? More than one in five children are at risk of hunger (for African-American and Latino children, the number is one in three)? And more than 52 percent of Whitehall-Coplay School District students qualify for free or reduced-price lunch?

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And yet again, we mourn

On Feb. 14, a very disturbed and well-armed Nikolas Cruz, 19, walked into Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla., slaughtered 17 people, injured a dozen more and calmly walked out with the crowd of terrified, fleeing students.

He was captured after purchasing a drink at a Subway inside a Walmart store and sitting for awhile at a McDonald’s.

According to published reports, Cruz, whom the Florida Department of Children and Families in Broward County says has a history of autism, ADHD and depression, also has a violent history.

Another View

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protect yourself from scammers

Scammers are becoming more and more sophisticated with their ways to steal money or personal information.

An article, “Grandparent Scam Suspect Arrested, Others Sought,” on the WFMZ TV-69 website reported on a Bethlehem man awaiting extradition to Virginia after allegedly participating in a multi-state scam.

The article states Johnnie Vincente allegedly was in possession of an envelope containing $10,000 in currency from a senior citizen in Minnesota when he was stopped attempting to pick up a FedEx package using a fake ID.

Editor’s view

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will Social Security be there for me when I retire?

I recently printed my statement from Social Security to see my projected benefits after reading comments on Facebook that the fund has been “tapped twice” and there probably won’t be any money for me when I’m ready to retire.

The saying, “You can’t believe everything you read on Facebook” is partially true in this case.

The years 2020 and 2034 seem to be important dates in the life of Social Security. Those are the years the funds may be in question with a projected deficit.