Catasauqua Press

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed, and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

Fighting Hunger: Volunteers continue Snack Pack Pals’ mission for fourth year

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

It has been four years since Leah Saliby, an eighth-grade English teacher, launched the Snack Pack Pals program in the Whitehall-Coplay School District. This program helps alleviate food insecurity for children attending the school district. This program originally began providing food for 50 students identified by district guidance counselors as being most food insecure at home. They received snack packs during the five long weekends of the school year: Thanksgiving, winter break, Presidents Day weekend, spring break and Memorial Day weekend.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month, Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Another View

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early-morning ER trip Christmas Day helped ease our minds

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace. We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday since Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed. I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’

Living the Vintage Years: In-home care can keep seniors independent

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Sometimes, others’ bad experiences scare us so much we become afraid to try similar endeavors ourselves.

Such was the case with me. I had heard so many horror stories over the years from friends, neighbors and relatives about hiring home-care aides. When I recently was faced with that task, I was paralyzed with fear.

Reports of stolen watches and jewelry, cash and other valuable belongings filled my thoughts, making any meaningful action impossible. It seemed every person I talked to gave me dire warnings.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The healing power of pets

Before Christmas, my family committed to all staying home one night to watch holiday movies together.

As the time neared for the first film to begin, we found our pets had gathered in the living room as well, taking up a good portion of the couches. This is not an exaggeration. We have three dogs — and despite their alleged thinking, none of them is a true lap dog.

This happens pretty often. It’s not unusual to see one of us walk in the room, pause when we see the shortage of comfortable seating and choose to find a spot on the floor instead of moving a napping pet.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is better to give than to receive’

To the Editor:

Everyone gets at least one gift at Christmas, don’t they? Working with the elderly can be an eye opener. Some are considered “orphans,” receiving no guests, no cards and no presents to mark the holiday. As our staff considered this, we began to think about how we could impact the loneliness they may be feeling at this time.

Our plan was named “Be a Santa to a Senior,” or BASTAS.

Another view

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Handcrafted Christmas gifts are made from the heart

Christmas is a time of giving and love. For many, the giving has overpowered the love and hidden the true meaning of the season.

During Christmas, we give gifts to show our loved ones we appreciate them and love having them in our lives. This is why we give. However, with events like Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we, as a society, tend to focus on buying the best new gadgets or getting a great price on those expensive toys. We focus more on what we are buying and not why. The expectation is to buy more and more each year and to continually up the ante.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, December 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Making Christmas memories

“And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.

Another View

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Keep loved ones, pets safe from fire this holiday season

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories and a meal, sing, decorate and exchange gifts.

The holiday season can be especially difficult if a fire were to break out in a home and take the life of a loved one.

According to local media, a body of one man was found following a fire in Whitehall; a second fire this past weekend displaced nine people and killed a dog.