Catasauqua Press

Saturday, November 17, 2018

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Tragedy at Capital Gazette hits close to home

The tragedy at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis hit close to home for me and two of my colleagues. Brad Simpson, chief financial officer, Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association; Robin Quillon, publisher of The Tribune-Democrat in Johnstown; and myself were meeting in a conference room just outside of the newsroom at the same newspaper that would be the topic of breaking news just a couple of hours later.

I remember one victim who walked by me — sunglasses, hat and a grumpy hello, and I said to myself ... ‘Yeah, he is a news guy.’

Journalists matter.

Living the Vintage Years

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Happiness grows in my garden

Since childhood, I have loved to play in the dirt. Mud pies were my specialty back then.

So one can only imagine how excited I am each spring to get out in the yard and start planning and planting.

This season threw me a curve ball, however.

From overuse and advancing age, I managed to tear the meniscus in my left knee.

Pain made bending and kneeling, not to mention walking and standing, almost unbearable.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A reading adventure awaits at the library

An old, yellowed newspaper clipping is secured on my refrigerator with a magnet. It reads:

“You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be — I had a mother who read to me,” from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillilan in “The Read Aloud Handbook”

I put this quote on my refrigerator when I was pregnant with my first child, approximately 25 years ago. I learned if I read to my children before they were born, they would recognize my voice after they were born, and that was true.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Me Too (and money?) bring change to Miss America contest

Miss America 2.0. Coming soon: New website. New show. New experience.

Previous winners of the popular pageant are casting their own votes now, after last week’s announcement that the Miss America organization will eliminate its swimsuit and evening gown contests from the 97-year-old event.

Gretchen Carlson, the newly named chairwoman of the Miss America board of directors and herself a winner of the pageant, also announced it was no longer to be considered a pageant, but rather a competition.

On the Homefront: Fathers matter in the lives of their children

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

All research begins with someone asking the question, “I wonder ...?” That is what my research design instructor told us on the first day of class.

I have a number of things that make me go, “Huh ...!” but at the behest of my family, who had to endure me going through graduate school a few years ago, I decided to spare them and not to embark upon a Ph.D.

Another view

Wednesday, June 6, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Think before speaking

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Before acting, I ponder this phrase taught to me by my mother years ago. If whatever I am about to say or do does not fit the framework of “something nice,” I simply refrain from putting it out to the world. This second look has stopped me from doing a lot of things I know I would have regretted.

“When anger rises, think of the consequences,” Confucius said.

Chosen words

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hoist the balloons for the month of June

Month that you are

those near and far

Attend celebrations

as countless as stars

Sailing through

Birthdays

Graduations

Weddings

Anniversaries

Reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there’s ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of love vs. hate

The weekend of May 18-20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.