Catasauqua Press

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C.

The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority. One who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare. One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thanks for coverage of Barkley events

To the Editor:

On behalf of the Saquon Barkley Day organizers, volunteers, Coplay council, mayor and local business establishments, we need to thank Whitehall-Coplay Press Editor Kelly Lutterschmidt, photographers TinaMarie Martin and Scott Nagy and writer James Bunting for the excellent coverage provided on the March 24 Barkley Day event and April 26 Barkley Draft parties in the Coplay community.

On March 24, more than 5,000 people came to Coplay and supported our local eating establishments because of one person — Saquon Barkley.

Another view

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Taking a look back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.”

— “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this Another View piece on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Be a donor — don’t take your organs to Heaven

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.”

— Maya Angelou

***

Every 10 minutes, a new name is added to the waiting list for an organ transplant. Nearly 115,000 names are on that list. Those names might be faces that are familiar to you or be complete strangers.

But as an organ donor, you have the ability to save eight of them. Just you. Eight lives.

Another view

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sesame Place first theme park with autism certification

April is National Autism Awareness Month. There are many ways people spread awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), such as hosting special fundraisers, wearing blue or posting photos of the iconic colorful puzzle pieces. On World Autism Awareness Day, which was April 2 this year, Sesame Place decided to kick it up a notch and announce it is officially designated as a Certified Autism Center (CAC).

The Bucks County children’s amusement park is the first theme park in the world to achieve CAC status.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to our candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is this April 12 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early-morning below-freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the back yard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.

Another View

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will this surge of women running for political office change government?

Ever since the 1700s, most political offices in the United States have been held by men at both the state and federal levels.

However, all across America today, Americans are seeing a surge of women running for political offices.

Just recently, actress Cynthia Nixon announced she is running for New York governor.

According to the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University website, approximately 708 women have filed to run in 2018, for U.S. Congress or in statewide elections.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Property use must conform to zoning

To the Editor:

As a farmer’s daughter and a local elected official, I am writing to you about the issues of warehouses, farmland preservation and zoning.

When properties are zoned, their use has to conform to the zoning. If some farmland is zoned that allows warehouses, then that is what can be built. If a township would try to change the zoning on that property to stop a proposed warehouse, the township could get sued and lose in court for what is called spot zoning — and the taxpayers would pay the bill.

Invite some natives to your property this year

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I have been busy making a list and checking it twice. And thrice.

No, I am not trying to get an absurdly early start to Christmas. I am trying to decide what new plants to add to my many containers and small backyard plots.

My recent visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show put me in the mood, as it always does, for working in the garden, and plant and seed catalogs have been filling my mailbox for months, enticing me with gorgeous photos and bargain prices.

Admittedly, small-space gardening is a challenge.