Catasauqua Press

Monday, July 23, 2018

Another View

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protect yourself from scammers

Scammers are becoming more and more sophisticated with their ways to steal money or personal information.

An article, “Grandparent Scam Suspect Arrested, Others Sought,” on the WFMZ TV-69 website reported on a Bethlehem man awaiting extradition to Virginia after allegedly participating in a multi-state scam.

The article states Johnnie Vincente allegedly was in possession of an envelope containing $10,000 in currency from a senior citizen in Minnesota when he was stopped attempting to pick up a FedEx package using a fake ID.

Editor’s view

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will Social Security be there for me when I retire?

I recently printed my statement from Social Security to see my projected benefits after reading comments on Facebook that the fund has been “tapped twice” and there probably won’t be any money for me when I’m ready to retire.

The saying, “You can’t believe everything you read on Facebook” is partially true in this case.

The years 2020 and 2034 seem to be important dates in the life of Social Security. Those are the years the funds may be in question with a projected deficit.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Same old story on school taxes

To the Editor:

Here we go again. The Northampton Area School District has announced the annual “preliminary” school property tax increase. Sure, it’s 3.9 percent now, but it will be lower when approved. I’ll bet it will be about 2.9 percent since that is the state “limit” without our input, and we will be told that the district did us a favor by lowering the original tax increase.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thankful for compassion

To the Editor:

On Nov. 21, 2017, I was involved in a minor car collision at Seventh and Lehigh Streets in Hokendauqua. Immediately, two young men and a young woman came to check me and the other driver for injuries. They assisted us both in moving our cars off to the side of the road safely.

As the other driver and I waited for the police to arrive, the three young adults left when they were certain we were not injured. At this time, a fourth young woman came by, stated she was an EMT and also asked if either of us was injured.

Another view

Wednesday, January 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The power and right of telling the truth

When I was a young child, I was sexually assaulted by a family member.

When I was a young teenager, I was sexually assaulted and harassed by a classmate.

And when I was a young adult, I encountered street harassment more times than I can count on one hand.

So when the #metoo movement started to catch fire on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms, I joined in and reposted the hashtag and message, too.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Reset for 2018 by choosing your word carefully

How’s the New Year’s resolution coming along?

Not so great, you say?

You’re not alone.

This is about the time the frustration sets in and the giving up begins, according to researchers.

Approximately 50 percent of the population makes a resolution to start the new year. Jan. 1 signifies a new beginning. We start the year with super hero-sized powers to do things differently than the year before. There’s a special kind of energy that comes with a chance for change.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Borough should honor Barkley

To the Editor:

I am writing this letter to raise awareness in the Coplay community about the importance of honoring Saquon Barkley for his achievements and contributions not only athletically, but as an outstanding young man, role model and citizen.

To have a parade and present him with the key to the city and rename the street he grew up on after him would be a great way to honor him.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Toomey’s response ‘cowardly’

To the Editor:

Another day, another opportunity for Sen. Toomey to show us his true colors.

In response to President Trump’s blatantly racist remarks about immigrants from Africa and Haiti, Sen. Toomey produced yet another cowardly and spineless response.

Rather than outright condemn President Trump’s remarks, as anyone with some integrity would do, Sen. Toomey writes how he “hopes” the president will retract the statements “attributed to him” about countries of which “he was accused of describing disparagingly.”

Chambers plan mixer to collect items for Coplay Food Pantry

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

Did you know that the Borough of Coplay has had an active food pantry since 1993, aimed at alleviating food insecurity for Coplay residents?

The pantry is here to help you in times of need. It is located on the lower level of the municipal building, 98 S. Fourth St., Coplay.

Food distribution is 8:30-10 a.m. on the second Tuesday of the month. Jodi is in charge of the pantry and can be reached at 610-262-0928.