Catasauqua Press

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Vote Donaher for 138th seat

To the Editor:

For the 138th District, there is one choice to send to Harrisburg: Dr. Dean Donaher.

Donaher has been a leader in education and the community for over 30 years. With an extensive background serving the Bethlehem Area School District, both as an administrator and a school board member, Donaher understands the weaknesses of the system that funds Pennsylvania education. He believes it is time for the state to keep up its end of the bargain and give our school districts their fair share, instead of relying on property taxes from fixed-income senior citizens.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Probst is right choice in 40th

To the Editor:

Tarah Probst is the right choice for state Senate in the 40th District.

A Northeast Pennsylvania native, Probst has been both living and giving in the community her entire life.

The mayor of Stroudsburg, she understands the unique needs of our region and the economic conditions we must create to be successful. She is willing to work with her colleagues to do what is best for our district, regardless of party affiliation. She believes all voices need to be heard when legislators go to vote.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the end of bar soap and more

This is not an obituary.

Nor is it a political commentary.

This Editor’s View mourns the death of things I and many others grew up with, including bar soap and top sheets.

Yes, that’s right. According to a recent news article, Generation Z individuals born between 1995 and 2010 and millennials born between 1981 and 1996 are changing the world as we know it — for those individuals have stated they no longer use bar soap, only liquid soap.

And, they don’t use top sheets.

Top sheets? Will a sheet set soon only come with a fitted sheet and pillowcases?

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

’Tis the season for flu prevention

It’s October and that means, for me at least, it is time for a flu shot.

On the record, I don’t like getting flu shots, although the anticipation really is the worst part. The shot itself is over in moments. The paperwork takes longer than the physical needle stick.

However, the flu shot is better than being sick, homemade chicken noodle soup notwithstanding.

And this year, the shot may be more important than ever.

Living the Vintage Years: Rx for quality health care begins with education

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I walked into the room in the middle of a loud argument.

My relative’s roommate in a health care facility was angry with staff for not getting him bathed and dressed by lunchtime. He was still in bed in his nightclothes. When one of his relatives came to visit, he told her what had happened, and she reported his grievance to the facility’s nurse and administrator.

Ever since, he has been dressed and groomed at a reasonable morning hour.

It pays to have an advocate to watchdog and speak up on behalf of a hospital patient or health care facility resident.

Another View

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A voice for the millions

Many Americans tuned in Sept. 27 to live coverage of the testimony hearing of Dr. Christine Blasey Ford and Supreme Court Justice nominee and U.S. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh before the Senate Judiciary Committee. If you were like me, you were hanging on to every word of Blasey Ford and Kavanaugh. Additionally, if you were like me, you were personally familiar with the actions (or similar actions), responses and feelings she described of the alleged summer 1982 sexual assault in Maryland.

There have been two other women who made allegations against Kavanaugh as well.

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Only yes means yes

The year Jeanne Anne Clery was raped and murdered in her dorm room at Lehigh University, I was a freshman at nearby Moravian College in Bethlehem.

On April 5, 1986, Clery awoke during an attempted robbery by Josoph Henry, a fellow student at Lehigh, who beat, cut, raped, sodomized and strangled her. She was a freshman. He was a sophomore. During his trial, he claimed alcohol consumption caused his crime. The state rejected the argument. He is serving a life sentence in prison.

Another view

Wednesday, September 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s talk about it

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. This is a time to forget the stigma surrounding suicide and to share our stories and resources as a lifeline to others.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) lists suicide as the 10th leading cause of death in the United States. The World Health Organization (WHO) recognizes suicide as a public health priority and reports approximately 800,000 people die from suicide every year.