Catasauqua Press

Saturday, November 17, 2018

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will you pay to connect?

It has been a little over a month since the news broke of the Facebook data breach involving Cambridge Analytica.

At least 87 million Facebook users were impacted.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologized, appeared before Congress and went on a social media frenzy noting upcoming changes to the social media giant to ensure the privacy of users going forward.

During Zuckerberg’s testimony before Congress, Sen. Orin Hatch asked Zuckerberg if Facebook would always be free.

Zuckerberg responded, “Yes, there will always be a version of Facebook that is free.”

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is big data trending?

Cambridge Analytica is closing.

In May 2 headlines in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, the firm announced plans to file for bankruptcy and, effectively, shut down.

Cambridge Analytica recently was at the center of a political storm after revelations of its role in the 2016 U.S. presidential campaign and how big data harvested from social media can be used or misused.

Serving teens alcohol is harmful to cognition, development

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Last week, I found myself performing the very tedious task of reattaching an ear on a ceramic bunny. My cat has an issue with the little figure standing upright, so she takes great pleasure in knocking it on its side. I have no idea why, and usually, I just place the lopsided bunny back on its feet and walk away. But this time, the figurine had fallen to the floor, and the tip of one ear broke off.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C.

The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority. One who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare. One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thanks for coverage of Barkley events

To the Editor:

On behalf of the Saquon Barkley Day organizers, volunteers, Coplay council, mayor and local business establishments, we need to thank Whitehall-Coplay Press Editor Kelly Lutterschmidt, photographers TinaMarie Martin and Scott Nagy and writer James Bunting for the excellent coverage provided on the March 24 Barkley Day event and April 26 Barkley Draft parties in the Coplay community.

On March 24, more than 5,000 people came to Coplay and supported our local eating establishments because of one person — Saquon Barkley.

Another view

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Taking a look back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.”

— “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this Another View piece on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Be a donor — don’t take your organs to Heaven

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.”

— Maya Angelou

***

Every 10 minutes, a new name is added to the waiting list for an organ transplant. Nearly 115,000 names are on that list. Those names might be faces that are familiar to you or be complete strangers.

But as an organ donor, you have the ability to save eight of them. Just you. Eight lives.

Another view

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sesame Place first theme park with autism certification

April is National Autism Awareness Month. There are many ways people spread awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), such as hosting special fundraisers, wearing blue or posting photos of the iconic colorful puzzle pieces. On World Autism Awareness Day, which was April 2 this year, Sesame Place decided to kick it up a notch and announce it is officially designated as a Certified Autism Center (CAC).

The Bucks County children’s amusement park is the first theme park in the world to achieve CAC status.