Catasauqua Press

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to our candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is this April 12 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early-morning below-freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the back yard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.

Another View

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will this surge of women running for political office change government?

Ever since the 1700s, most political offices in the United States have been held by men at both the state and federal levels.

However, all across America today, Americans are seeing a surge of women running for political offices.

Just recently, actress Cynthia Nixon announced she is running for New York governor.

According to the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University website, approximately 708 women have filed to run in 2018, for U.S. Congress or in statewide elections.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Property use must conform to zoning

To the Editor:

As a farmer’s daughter and a local elected official, I am writing to you about the issues of warehouses, farmland preservation and zoning.

When properties are zoned, their use has to conform to the zoning. If some farmland is zoned that allows warehouses, then that is what can be built. If a township would try to change the zoning on that property to stop a proposed warehouse, the township could get sued and lose in court for what is called spot zoning — and the taxpayers would pay the bill.

Invite some natives to your property this year

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I have been busy making a list and checking it twice. And thrice.

No, I am not trying to get an absurdly early start to Christmas. I am trying to decide what new plants to add to my many containers and small backyard plots.

My recent visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show put me in the mood, as it always does, for working in the garden, and plant and seed catalogs have been filling my mailbox for months, enticing me with gorgeous photos and bargain prices.

Admittedly, small-space gardening is a challenge.

Guest view

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by GEORGE VANDOREN in Opinion

Let’s get real about protecting the public

As a retired teacher and a former U.S. Army officer, I’d like to weigh in on the subject of arming teachers.

Let’s set aside the idea that schools ought to be welcoming, nurturing places with an atmosphere of warmth and encouragement.

Let’s take the best-case scenario — which is definitely not the case. We have all the teachers voluntarily armed and all well trained in both marksmanship vis-à-vis a moving target and the use of deadly force.

A community of ‘ones’

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the aftermath of tragic events, I tend to feel very helpless and small. Even though my every day is jam-packed with activities that serve to improve the quality of life for others, I feel as if I somehow failed. It sounds a bit ridiculous because I could never directly make a difference for every single person out there, especially those who live far away and have no connection to me. Yet, I tend to think globally and wonder what I could have done to create a different outcome.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Farmland should be preserved

To the Editor:

I am a member of Troop 43. The reason I am writing to you is about the problem of making factories or warehouses on our farmland.

In my opinion, this is a bad choice because they will replace farm homes and farmland. The people removed from their homes had to work hard to keep the farm going. If we keep this up, most of the farmland in the country will be gone.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘All truths are easy to understand once discovered; the point is to discover them.’ — Galileo

It’s been a big week in space, so to speak.

An American astronaut was found to have altered his genes through space travel. The science and space savvy the world over celebrated the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet. And a luminary scientist left us for worlds unknown.

Not that earthbound news did not keep headline readers and writers busy.