Catasauqua Press

Friday, September 22, 2017

Letter to the editor: Thank you for successful coat drive

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

We would like to thank all the participants in this year’s Warmth For A Friend coat drive. A total of 498 people at The St. Paul’s Mission and the Allentown Men’s Mission were provided coats, scarves, hats, gloves and other winter clothing articles.

Warmth For A Friend started as a community service project eight years ago by Sophie’s daughter, Pfc. Amanda Kesselring, now serving our country in the United States Army.

Another view: What will you make of 2017?

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you will read this, it will be after New Year’s Day. It’s currently Friday afternoon as I sit down to write this. The most appropriate viewpoint for this time of year is one based on the start of a new year — that some may see as a new transition, a new beginning or the perfect time to introduce a new project, dream, step or change in life.

Another view: Music can bring holiday cheer all year

Thursday, December 29, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

During the month of December, our lives are typically filled with special events, gift-giving, family gatherings and foods we only eat once a year. All of these aspects of the season bring most of us joy, but there is something else we experience during the holidays that contributes to our jolly demeanor at this time of year — the music.

On the Homefront: Learning to discuss a higher being

Thursday, December 29, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I am always last — last to arrive, last to leave, last to get served at a banquet. Sometimes it happens due to my own fault, like because I am running late. But many times, if not most, I am at the end of the line because I tend to hang around and talk. I always seem to find someone to connect with, even in a room full of strangers. It is both a blessing and a curse. I even had the lights turned off on me at a viewing once. “Mom’s last call at the funeral home” is one of those family stories that will go down in history.

Editor’s view: Remembering a sad, yet joyous holiday

Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

This Christmas marks 15 years since my life was forever changed by the kindness and selflessness of others. As you’ll read below, my younger daughter, Katie, was hospitalized on Christmas Eve 2001. A situation that then seemed tragic revealed to our family an awesome and inspiring spirit.

***

(Printed in the Jan. 19, 2002, edition of The Press)

Chosen words: The Gift

Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Have you heard the GOOD NEWS?

God has come to Earth

In a borrowed manger

In a wee one’s birth

Do you know he still lives

And His Spirit moves today

Through the followers He has chosen

Followers of The Way?

This way he came to teach

Is not the world’s, it’s true

He died so that we might

LIVE

A life that breathes anew

Will we recognize Him

When we see Him now

In the eyes of those who ache

Or display a furrowed brow?

Oh, how the world longs for rescue

From others, as from self

Guest view: Stock food pantries with BOGO items

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Denise Continenza, chair of the Communities That Care group, attended our Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative meeting Nov. 22.

She relayed a great posting she saw on Facebook that was intended for Advent (the four Sundays before Christmas), but this can be done monthly or as often as you wish to participate. I mentioned to our meeting attendees that this would be the article I will write in December.

Letter to the editor: Life will never be the same

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Residents who are beginning to complain about the FedEx warehousing activities and other proposed warehouses in Allen Township need to remind themselves that twice voters in Allen Township refused a ballot referendum to preserve farmland and open space. For a small increase in taxes, life might be different, but life will never be the same.

In 30 years, we will be like surrounding townships (Hanover, Bethlehem) with no farms at all.

John Stoffa

Kreidersville

(Editor’s note: Stoffa is a former Northampton County executive.)

Editor’s View: Media coverage of Pearl Harbor brings back memories of war horrors retold

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Watching televised news reports and human interest stories this past week on the 75th anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941, immediately brought back memories of the many late nights my mother and I spent holding and listening to my father cry at the kitchen table.

My dad enlisted in the U.S. Navy at the age of 20, following the attack. He served aboard the USS Monitor, a landing ship vehicle-5, crossing the equator Oct. 11, 1944.

Guest view: Family letters provide glimpse of war life

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Recently, I discovered history in a packet of letters my mother had kept since World War II. The timing was perfect. Just when our nation’s brave men and women who served in the military were being honored and celebrated on Veterans Day, I was immersed in the innocent musings of a young soldier who paid the ultimate price for his service.

Robert was killed in action in France at the age of 22. He and I share DNA. He was an uncle I never got to meet.