Catasauqua Press

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Another View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, but this weekend, while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.

Getting older doesn't have to end a lifestyle

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

With the Lenten season upon us, I have heard folks discussing what they might give up between Ash Wednesday and Easter.

One man joked that as he has aged, he's had to give up so much, he has nothing left to sacrifice.

That comment brought to mind a couple in their 70s, friends of ours, who no longer travel because they say packing all their medications and medical devices is too much trouble.

Editor's View

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The dangers of sexting: 'Is it really worth it?'

Salisbury High School presented an assembly recently on the dangers of sexting – this seminar was offered by District Attorney Jim Martin's office for school districts in the Lehigh Valley.

Sexting is described as taking a nude picture of yourself or someone else with cellphone cameras and texting it to others or posting nude photos of yourself on social media such as Facebook or MySpace.

Winter offers interesting exercise options

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

If you don't like the weather, wait 10 minutes.

I first heard that saying while visiting Maine, but I think there's some truth to it here, too.

Friday was absolutely beautiful. I took in the sunshine and enjoyed a 75-minute walk through the neighborhoods of Coplay. It was so nice out I didn't wear a coat and, at one point, I even took off my cardigan sweater.

Saturday wasn't bad but it was definitely colder. By Sunday, the winds made it feel downright frigid.

Allow your children to amaze you

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Our Christmas card this year was a picture of our family at a winery in upstate New York.

All decked in various shades of purple and gray and gathered on a rustic porch, we were celebrating the wedding of our eldest child on a picture-perfect day in the Finger Lakes.

I asked the photographer if the winery could serve as the backdrop for our family picture that I figured would end up as our annual greeting card later in the year.

The photo included my husband and me as well as my mother-in-law, our daughter and her fiance, and our youngest son and his girlfriend.

ANOTHER VIEW Society must embrace the new green

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and supporting the smart growth of green technology is at the heart of the solution to most issues we debate in this great nation.

When we talk about gun related issues and problems with violence in our society, the greater issue is social stability coupled with economic growth.

Most people who have quality jobs and something significant to lose, refrain from making horrible and atrocious decisions.

Don't judge a life by its obituary

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I read an obituary in a newspaper last night. It took me all of four seconds.

Just 12 words long, this final tribute, so to speak, listed only the man's name, age, most recent town of residence and date of death. It told us nothing about the person.

Whenever I see one of those tiny obits, especially on a page with others that take up an entire column or two, I feel sad.

Although the little obits at the bottom of the page may be sparse, they speak volumes.

Perhaps they tell us no one cared enough about the deceased to pay him or her proper tribute.

Help available for smokers trying to quit

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The American Lung Association of the Mid-Atlantic wishes everyone a Happy New Year.

As we rang in 2013, many of us made New Year's resolutions to improve our health and well-being. People who resolve to quit smoking have the chance to increase the length and quality of their lives.

Quitting works its magic the minute an individual makes the choice.

In just 12 hours after an individual quits, the carbon monoxide level in their blood drops to normal. Fast forward to a year after quitting, and the risk of coronary heart disease is half that of a smoker's.

Another View

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reasonable regulations don't encroach on rights

I must respectfully, but emphatically, disagree with an editorial by my colleague, Deb Palmieri, in the Jan. 31 edition, "Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable."

Sadly, instead of recognizing that the right to bear arms, like other rights guaranteed in our Constitution, is not absolute, Deb results to the 'slippery slope' argument that other gun rights extremists are using, when she says, "First, assault weapons ... and magazines holding more than 10 rounds will be banned. Then, semi-automatic pistols such as the Glock, will be banned."