Catasauqua Press

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Another View Learning how to discern the whole truth

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

I don't know about you, but the amount of information presented during the presidential and vice presidential debates this year sometimes left my head spinning.

While I found it easy, as each debate has concluded, to determine which candidate had presented himself most admirably, knowing how to interpret the purported "facts" presented was a challenge with which I needed some help.

The candidates spent weeks preparing for these debates, carefully crafting ways of presenting their viewpoints that would read well to their target audiences.

Election Policy

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Thursday, October 25, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, October 25, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Is photo identification worth the cost to Pennsylvania voters?

In 1907, Samuel Adams wrote about the right to vote.

"Let each citizen remember at the moment he is offering his vote that he is not making a present or a compliment to please an individual – or at least that he ought not so to do; but that he is executing one of the most solemn trusts in human society for which he is accountable to God and his country."

When State Rep. Daryl Metcalf, R-12th, Butler County, decided to introduce legislation to require voter identification in March 2011, the ability to vote in Pennsylvania came into question.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 25, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Photo identification: Is voting less important than clearing a stuffy nose?

"...Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name, and they're always glad you came ... You wanna be where everybody knows your name..." ("Cheers" theme song "Where Everybody Knows Your Name" by Gary Portnoy and Judy Hart Angelo)

There once was a time in this country when a man's word was his bond and children were told by their parents not to bring shame upon the family name.

Doors were left unlocked and youngsters played outside freely and unsupervised.

another view: Voters are a varied lot

Thursday, October 18, 2012 by MARK RECCEK Special to The Press in Opinion

Who are the voters across the Lehigh Valley the candidates will attempt to appeal to from now until Nov. 6?

Whether your political affiliation is associated with the color red or blue, we all share one common desire: we want the candidate we vote for to best represent our interests and the well-being of America.

Today, the political discourse among elected officials and those running for public office is contentious and rancorous.

Couple that with an unsteady and unpredictable economy each of us wrestle with daily.