Catasauqua Press

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Allow your children to amaze you

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Our Christmas card this year was a picture of our family at a winery in upstate New York.

All decked in various shades of purple and gray and gathered on a rustic porch, we were celebrating the wedding of our eldest child on a picture-perfect day in the Finger Lakes.

I asked the photographer if the winery could serve as the backdrop for our family picture that I figured would end up as our annual greeting card later in the year.

The photo included my husband and me as well as my mother-in-law, our daughter and her fiance, and our youngest son and his girlfriend.

ANOTHER VIEW Society must embrace the new green

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and supporting the smart growth of green technology is at the heart of the solution to most issues we debate in this great nation.

When we talk about gun related issues and problems with violence in our society, the greater issue is social stability coupled with economic growth.

Most people who have quality jobs and something significant to lose, refrain from making horrible and atrocious decisions.

Don't judge a life by its obituary

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I read an obituary in a newspaper last night. It took me all of four seconds.

Just 12 words long, this final tribute, so to speak, listed only the man's name, age, most recent town of residence and date of death. It told us nothing about the person.

Whenever I see one of those tiny obits, especially on a page with others that take up an entire column or two, I feel sad.

Although the little obits at the bottom of the page may be sparse, they speak volumes.

Perhaps they tell us no one cared enough about the deceased to pay him or her proper tribute.

Help available for smokers trying to quit

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The American Lung Association of the Mid-Atlantic wishes everyone a Happy New Year.

As we rang in 2013, many of us made New Year's resolutions to improve our health and well-being. People who resolve to quit smoking have the chance to increase the length and quality of their lives.

Quitting works its magic the minute an individual makes the choice.

In just 12 hours after an individual quits, the carbon monoxide level in their blood drops to normal. Fast forward to a year after quitting, and the risk of coronary heart disease is half that of a smoker's.

Another View

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reasonable regulations don't encroach on rights

I must respectfully, but emphatically, disagree with an editorial by my colleague, Deb Palmieri, in the Jan. 31 edition, "Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable."

Sadly, instead of recognizing that the right to bear arms, like other rights guaranteed in our Constitution, is not absolute, Deb results to the 'slippery slope' argument that other gun rights extremists are using, when she says, "First, assault weapons ... and magazines holding more than 10 rounds will be banned. Then, semi-automatic pistols such as the Glock, will be banned."

Another view

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The Super (commercial) Bowl: Sunday night entertainment

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and I was home alone.

With my husband out of town, Sunday evening was all mine to do as I wished. I was looking forward to having complete control of the TV remote.

I started the evening watching a recorded episode of "Downton Abbey," the current Masterpiece Classic series.

When 6:30 p.m. rolled around, the episode had just ended and I surfed the TV listings for quite a while. In the end, finding nothing else of interest to watch, I decided to turn on the Super Bowl game after all, but not really to watch the game.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable

U.S. Constitution Amendment II: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

The Founding Fathers of this country lived under the tyranny of the monarchy of King George III of England.

The social and political changes in the 13 colonies leading to the American War of Independence (1775-1782) put an end to that autocratic rule.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay thanks UGI

To the Editor:

More often than not, a company is put into the public eye not for the positive they do, but rather for all the negative actions pointed out by the media during a crisis situation.

I want to be the first customer in Coplay to publicly thank the UGI gas company for the outstanding service their representatives provided during the recent crisis in the Coplay and Whitehall area.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Surgery offers new hope for diabetics

I started the new year without diabetes.

What makes that remarkable is the fact that I had diabetes in 2012.

I literally walked into St. Luke's Hospital's Allentown campus Dec. 31, 2012, with diabetes and walked out on New Year's Day without the disease.

The reason for the overnight turnaround is metabolic surgery. Specifically, I had gastric bypass, which is a form of bariatric or weight loss surgery. It's important to note, however, that not all weight loss surgeries are metabolic surgeries.