Catasauqua Press

Sunday, July 15, 2018

The heroes among us

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Church was packed Dec. 16; I'm not sure if it was because of the upcoming Christmas holiday or the overwhelming need to pray for the families affected by the shooting in Connecticut Dec. 14.

Sermons throughout our area were focused on trying to make sense of this event as well as trying to cope with the overwhelming grief all Americans feel.

Shining through the grief are the acts of heroism displayed by the first responders, staff and administrators at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

Another View

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons from Sandy Hook tragedy

Christians are taught "all things work together for good."

This week, it's difficult to see how that can be true for the families and friends of the children and adults who died at the Sandy Hook School in Connecticut Friday.

I am the mother of five children. They are grown now, but a mother always remembers her children as they were when they were young.

When Laurie was 6 years old, she was an instant mother's helper when triplet siblings joined the family. She would come home from school, put down her book bag and happily snuggle with a baby on the sofa.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Those 'less fortunate' may not be strangers

An out-of-town friend of mine recently shared the heartbreak of having another person let her down.

My friend has health issues which include severe pain. All she wanted was someone to go with her to another one of the myriad doctors of she has to see in order to get a better diagnosis and treatment. A friend of hers promised to accompany her but did not. This left my friend feeling cheated and alone.

Not long afterward, I read yet another article encouraging people to embrace the spirit of the season by giving to those less fortunate.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Fasten your seat belts, 2012 is going to have a cliffhanger ending

If the Mayan calendar's end-of-the-world "prediction" doesn't kill us Dec. 21, surely the fall off the so-called "fiscal cliff" at the end of the year will.

If our elected officials, who spend more time on television explaining why they can't agree on a savings and spending plan than actually doing something about it, fail to avert the tax hikes coming Jan. 1, 2013, we all will be dangling from the edge as our 401k plans dwindle and our grocery bills double.

ANOTHER VIEW Infrastructure improvement should be a top priority

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The railroad bridge collapse in the West Deptford area of New Jersey Nov. 30 should be a wake up call to fix our area's crumbling infrastructure.

As we all know, procrastination can be a dangerous thing.

This spill of vinyl chloride, a toxic chemical, into a feeder creek of the Delaware River has the potential to kill wildlife and taint a delicate ecosystem still recovering from the consequences of our country's industrial revolution.

Guest View

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Nearly 9 in 10 seniors drive car that does not fit their needs, AAA says

With nearly 90 percent of motorists 65 and older suffering from health issues that affect driving safety, finding a car that not only adapts to conditions such as lack of flexibility or muscle strength while maintaining safety and comfort can be difficult.

Data from a new AAA survey also reveals only one in 10 senior drivers with aging health issues are driving a vehicle with features such as keyless entry and larger dashboard controls that can assist with such conditions.

House committee releases property tax reform recommendations

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

State Rep. Justin Simmons, R-131st, announced Nov. 30 the House Select Committee on Property Tax Reform has unanimously approved its final report, which includes recommendations to be considered by the House of Representatives.

Simmons was one of 13 House members from both parties who were appointed to the committee last June and charged with investigating all aspects of the issue, including municipal, county and school property taxes and releasing a final report by Nov. 30.

Another View

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The love of a grandparent is priceless

My grandparents, Geza and Violet Janzso, were amazing people.

They not only raised their own four children, but also openly accepted the added responsibility of taking my two sisters and me in, and raising us as well.

Now that both have passed away, I seem to appreciate more than ever their many sacrifices and the love, compassion and direction they provided to me.

What's even more incredible is that they were not only grandparents, but in every sense of the word, parents.