Catasauqua Press

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

Whoever is responsible for creating this havoc in Boston has not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.

Kindergarten: ready or not?

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Every time I conduct a program for parents of soon-to-be kindergarteners, two questions inevitably come up.

One is, "My child is so smart that I am afraid she will be bored in kindergarten. Should I put her right in first grade?"

To this, I usually respond, that given the structure and higher demands of kindergarten compared to what it was years ago, this child is very ready for the pace of today's kindergarten.

Editor's View

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Keep pill bottles away from children to keep them safe

I watched in disbelief a recent report on The Today Show showing 4-year-old children opening safety caps on various types of medication.

I was not shocked, though, as we experienced the same thing in our own home many years ago.

When my oldest son was about 5 years old, he pulled a chair over to a kitchen cabinet, climbed up on the counter and found a bottle of vitamins which, in his mind, I suppose, looked like candy.

After a short period of time, my husband found him with the pills in his mouth and the red dye from the pills all over his mouth.

Guest View

Thursday, April 4, 2013 by DAWN SETTLE and DONNA BENSON in Opinion

Ask your representative to support study of gifted education

State Rep. Ryan Aument, R-Lancaster, introduced House Resolution 139 (H.R. 139) that called for a comprehensive study of educational programs available to gifted students in Pennsylvania school districts.

The House Education Committee passed this resolution with a unanimous vote to send it to the full House for second consideration April 8 and a final house vote April 9 or 10.

The Pennsylvania Association for Gifted Education fully supports H.R. 139 and asks for help to make this gifted study a reality.

Another View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What's in your filing cabinet?

It happens every year at my house as the April 15 tax-filing deadline nears. Once my IRS forms are filed, I take the folder with all the supporting receipts, invoices and forms to our home office filing cabinet to store.

Inside this drawer are numerous hanging file folders containing insurance policies, investment documents, automobile titles and loan papers and other documents. Stuffing the new file into what little remaining space there is, I ask myself, "Do I really need all this stuff?" and then, "Should some of this be more securely stored?"

Guest View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Routine eye exams by ophthalmologist can save your vision

The Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology reminds Pennsylvania residents a baseline eye disease screening at age 40 is critical to preserving healthy vision.

Early signs of eye disease and changes in vision may start to occur around age 40, and even those with perfect vision should be screened at that time.

People with eye disease symptoms or risk factors should also be screened.

Use the power that dwells within

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I laughed out loud while reading a query to a syndicated advice columnist.

A woman, who apparently is trying to lose weight, wants a coworker to remove his ever-present candy dish because the woman lacks the willpower to walk on by.

Unable or unwilling to adapt to her workplace surroundings, the misguided woman expects the world to adapt to her.

How ludicrous to demand all temptations be removed from our paths.

What about self-discipline and free will?

Letter to the editor

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay election heating up

To the Editor:

I believe the May Democratic Primary Election in Coplay will stand out in Lehigh County as the most exciting. We have a total of nine Coplay council candidates. Eight are on the Democratic ballot and one is on the Republican ballot. Four council seats are open.

We currently have two appointed councilmen, both of whom are running. Our mayor also was appointed. He and a challenger are on the ballot for the May Democratic primary.

Editor's View

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pope Francis, the embodiment of power and humility

As I finished the pages for this week's Parkland Press early Tuesday morning, I had one eye and ear cast in the direction of the television.

Pope Francis was being installed as the new Bishop of Rome; the spiritual leader of some 1.2 billion Roman Catholics worldwide and the head of state of the Vatican.

Such power and authority could easily turn the head of many a man.

Former Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Argentina, however, does not appear to be one of those men.