Catasauqua Press

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Editor's View

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable

U.S. Constitution Amendment II: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

The Founding Fathers of this country lived under the tyranny of the monarchy of King George III of England.

The social and political changes in the 13 colonies leading to the American War of Independence (1775-1782) put an end to that autocratic rule.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay thanks UGI

To the Editor:

More often than not, a company is put into the public eye not for the positive they do, but rather for all the negative actions pointed out by the media during a crisis situation.

I want to be the first customer in Coplay to publicly thank the UGI gas company for the outstanding service their representatives provided during the recent crisis in the Coplay and Whitehall area.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Surgery offers new hope for diabetics

I started the new year without diabetes.

What makes that remarkable is the fact that I had diabetes in 2012.

I literally walked into St. Luke's Hospital's Allentown campus Dec. 31, 2012, with diabetes and walked out on New Year's Day without the disease.

The reason for the overnight turnaround is metabolic surgery. Specifically, I had gastric bypass, which is a form of bariatric or weight loss surgery. It's important to note, however, that not all weight loss surgeries are metabolic surgeries.

Guest view: Offer help to those with mental disease

Thursday, January 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Fundraisers abound for childhood cancer patients, teenagers who have been in car accidents and parents awaiting life-saving organ transplants.

And it is not just monetary donations that are offered. Babysitting services, home-cooked meals or transportation to doctors' appointments are other ways people pitch in to ease the burden and create a support system for the ill person and their family.

Editor's View ASPCA commercials tug at the heart and the purse strings

Thursday, January 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Animal cruelty, unfortunately, exists but a number of organizations are bringing the issue to the forefront and are available to assist when needed.

Unless you have been living under a rock, you have seen the ASPCA commercials on television spotlighting abused animals and asking for your monetary assistance in continuing their work.

The familiar song by Sarah McLachlan, "In the Arms of the Angel," is just one of the songs on an ASPCA commercial; you know what the commercial is about if you hear that song playing.

Drug trends

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Teenagers are finding new ways to get high

Alcohol is still the preferred substance for teens, according to Jennifer Britland with the Center for Humanistic Change, in Bethlehem.

Britland led a drug-trend training program recently for middle and high school personnel from Lower Macungie, Easton, Northwestern, Whitehall, Parkland, Freedom and the High School for the Performing Arts along with Lehigh University students and health care individuals.

The purpose of the training was to alert attendees to the trending drugs, recognize the signs and symptoms and learn the strategies to assist those with these problems.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

My New Year's wish for 2013

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu'm Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.

Another View

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A resolution worth keeping

New Year's resolutions come and go.

Often they are short-lived, typically lasting no longer than a few days to a few weeks.

What should each of us resolve to do this coming year? What should each of us hope for and wish for this new year?

Throughout our communities are family members and neighbors who may be in need or want.

There are those inside our own workplaces, schools, churches and communities who are hurting and in need of an ear, shoulder, hand and heart.

KidsPeace offers assistance to parents in wake of school shooting

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Many parents have been asking for guidance on how to talk to their children about the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting and understand the short and long term impact of the events.

Jodi S.W. Campbell, MS, KidsPeace leader of the Critical Incident Response Team, assistant director of Organizational Development and Training shared with The Press tips for parents to help children in the wake of a large scale tragedy such as this.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

'True democracy and good government in action'

The last week-and-a-half since the Catasauqua Borough Council's vote to approve the devellopment agreement for the FL Smidth property has been a surreal whirlwind - I am still processing it all in my mind.

As the random bits of the last few months and years of hard work flash through my mind, the item that I keep coming back to is the way council members Mitzi Smith and Gene Schlegel voted.