Catasauqua Press

Friday, September 22, 2017

Another view: Don’t let thieves steal your holiday spirit

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are joyous and festive times.

Whether you are busy baking, decorating your home or shopping for that perfect gift, the holiday shopping season went into full swing on Black Friday.

Thieves also are out shopping for that perfect gift. But instead of in stores, they are “shopping” your vehicle, front porch or inside your home.

Letter to the editor: Pumpkins are better used than rotting

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

There are two fields on opposite sides of Route 248 in Moore Township that are filled with pumpkins. These fields are located about a mile apart. They were harvested on weekdays for about a month. The larger field had four or five tractor trailers backed into it with one truck cab hauling away each trailer when it was fully packed with pumpkins.

The local grapevine states that the larger pumpkins were harvested, and the rest — thousands — were left behind to rot.

Letter to the editor: Town watch groups are in need of dedicated volunteers

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I read with interest a recent “Guest View” piece in The Press. The writer presents frustration that Whitehall Crime Watch has become dormant.

Coplay’s seven-time nationally recognized Town Watch, founded in 1995, has fallen on challenging times during 2016. I was a leader and officer in CTW (Coplay Town Watch) for nearly 20 years. I vacated the leader role in January 2016 due to other responsibilities. I remain a CTW member.

Editor’s view: Thank you to our generous readers

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Many families have someone serving in the military who will not be home this holiday season to celebrate with loved ones.

These individuals are currently serving our country in Kuwait, Afghanistan, Iraq and many other countries around the world. They volunteered to protect and serve our country.

Thanks to the generosity of The Press readers, businesses, fire companies, clubs and others, military personnel will have something to smile about this Christmas.

Chosen words: Cornucopia of Gratitude

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Gathering the family

We bundle up against harsh winter winds

To travel to Grandma’s house

Whether near or far

Awaiting the feast as family

We are greeted by loved ones

Amongst a warm home filled with love

And by aroma of roast turkey, stuffing and pumpkin pies

The table set with its centerpiece of fruits and nuts

Declares this is a special day of gathering

A national heritage of gratitude

For freedom to worship God

For all the good gifts of life

For the harvest of food, family and friends

Letter to the editor: God bless all who poured out love for Gene Zarayko

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

This letter is sent from a heart that is overflowing with love for all of the residents and friends of my husband, Gene Zarayko, who poured out love for him.

The members of the Northampton Fire Department, Fire Police and Police Department — the awesome honor you all gave him, in the Standing of Guard, the coordination between all to ensure a smooth navigation through town as the funeral procession passed so many projects that Gene had a part in.

Guest view: We all play a role in preventing crime

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I was pretty sure I had fallen off the radar again — miss one meeting and that happens. You aren’t on the attendance sheet, so you don’t get the meeting’s minutes. The meeting’s minutes have the date of the next meeting, so you don’t show up at the next meeting either. You don’t get the notes from that meeting, and the cycle goes on.

You have successfully fallen off the radar.

Guest view: Strive to embrace small moments of life

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s so easy to become consumed with the hustle and bustle of life — those “things” we believe to be important, meaningful and self sustaining.

It’s often in those times of uncertainty and crisis — whether unexpected or expected — that we begin to ask the wider universal questions related to life. What difference have I made? Who have I impacted? Have I tried to be kind and giving to another?

Another view: A different kind of October surprise

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The news was big.

In an announcement on WCCO, television news reporter Esme Murphy intoned, “It’s simply the right thing to do for the 15,000 people who work here. And it’s good business.”

The reason?

Mall of America, in Bloomington, Minn., a concern billing itself as “the largest retail and entertainment destination in North America,” would not open Thanksgiving Day 2016.