Catasauqua Press

Monday, November 20, 2017

Editor’s view: Keep calm and …

Friday, February 10, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful postelection season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.

Letter to the editor: ‘We will not forget Toomey’s betrayal’

Friday, February 10, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Sen. Pat Toomey’s constituents have spoken.

We’ve spoken so voluminously and so loudly that we’ve been unable to reach Toomey by phone or fax.

Today, I am dismayed at Toomey’s written response, in which he relays he will support Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education despite the flooding of opposition to her from his constituents.

We see who Sen. Toomey serves, and it is not the people in his state, but the people with deep pockets — families like the DeVos family who have donated nearly $60,000 to his campaign.

Guest view: Music to a parent’s ears

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are some words that just make my day. “How did you survive raising me?!” is a question that is truly music to my ears.

My oldest son called me one morning to say he was absolutely exhausted from dealing with his 5-year-old. I smiled. You see, Dan was my challenging child. He went on to tell me how Jackson insisted upon dressing like a pirate for preschool that day. They tried everything under the sun to convince him it was not appropriate to wear a costume to school in December, but Jackson persisted. I smiled even more.

Editor’s view: And you thought things were going to be different

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The name and political party of an American president or, for that matter, the leader of any country are unimportant.

Blind and uncompromising bureaucracy is the true ruler, and the individual is unimportant in a land governed by laws lacking in common sense.

From young children in wheelchairs groped by TSA agents at airport screenings to the homeowner whose property is seized through eminent domain, the “good” of the country or political subdivision rises above humanity.

Another view: Not an acrobat’s daughter but a one-time elephant rider

Thursday, January 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus is folding the big top.

According to an announcement on its website, declines in ticket sales and “the transition of elephants off the road” were cited by Kenneth Feld, chief executive of Feld Entertainment, current owner of the 140-plus-year-old entertainment institution, as among the factors making the circus an “unsustainable business.”

Various media outlets announced the closing of the circus in top-of-the-hour roundups Jan. 15.

Letter to the editor: Thank you for successful coat drive

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

We would like to thank all the participants in this year’s Warmth For A Friend coat drive. A total of 498 people at The St. Paul’s Mission and the Allentown Men’s Mission were provided coats, scarves, hats, gloves and other winter clothing articles.

Warmth For A Friend started as a community service project eight years ago by Sophie’s daughter, Pfc. Amanda Kesselring, now serving our country in the United States Army.

Another view: What will you make of 2017?

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you will read this, it will be after New Year’s Day. It’s currently Friday afternoon as I sit down to write this. The most appropriate viewpoint for this time of year is one based on the start of a new year — that some may see as a new transition, a new beginning or the perfect time to introduce a new project, dream, step or change in life.

Another view: Music can bring holiday cheer all year

Thursday, December 29, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

During the month of December, our lives are typically filled with special events, gift-giving, family gatherings and foods we only eat once a year. All of these aspects of the season bring most of us joy, but there is something else we experience during the holidays that contributes to our jolly demeanor at this time of year — the music.

On the Homefront: Learning to discuss a higher being

Thursday, December 29, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I am always last — last to arrive, last to leave, last to get served at a banquet. Sometimes it happens due to my own fault, like because I am running late. But many times, if not most, I am at the end of the line because I tend to hang around and talk. I always seem to find someone to connect with, even in a room full of strangers. It is both a blessing and a curse. I even had the lights turned off on me at a viewing once. “Mom’s last call at the funeral home” is one of those family stories that will go down in history.

Editor’s view: Remembering a sad, yet joyous holiday

Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

This Christmas marks 15 years since my life was forever changed by the kindness and selflessness of others. As you’ll read below, my younger daughter, Katie, was hospitalized on Christmas Eve 2001. A situation that then seemed tragic revealed to our family an awesome and inspiring spirit.

***

(Printed in the Jan. 19, 2002, edition of The Press)