Catasauqua Press

Friday, September 22, 2017

Letter to the editor: False claims about Donate Life PA Act (House Bill 30) must stop

Thursday, November 10, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

On Oct. 27, several Lehigh Valley Press newspapers ran a column and a Guest View op-ed regarding the Donate Life PA Act.

Both stem from the same blatantly false statements made by lobbyist Susan Shanaman on behalf of the state coroners’ association.

I appreciate the opportunity to share the facts about this important legislation.

My name is Bill Hankee. I am the father of a true hero in the eyes of many.

My 22-year-old daughter, Krysta, donated her organs five days after collapsing in a New York gym.

Editor’s view: Enough already: Counting down to Nov. 9

Thursday, November 3, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

We interrupt this program to bring you ... yet another campaign commercial.

Haven’t we seen enough? Don’t we already know every misstep each candidate has taken?

The good news: We have to endure these ads for just a few more days.

The bad news: It is expected they will hit a “fever pitch,” according to researchers, who believe the last-chance campaigning will invade your favorite radio station, your smartphone and even the movie screen at your local theater.

Editor’s view: You can have my heart ... but only if you are white

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

House Bill 30, proposed by state Rep. Joseph Petrarca, D-55th (Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties), should send chills down the spines of all residents of Pennsylvania, especially those parents and others who objected to Common Core teaching methods.

Petrarca’s bill, co-sponsored by 93 other state representatives, includes ideas from the Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Project classroom toolkit, an initiative of the Pennsylvania Department of Education, for teaching students in the state.

Letter to the editor: Mako’s priorities are questioned

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Phillips Armstrong, Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners president, has made himself available to debate his opponent, Mr. Mako, in three public forums to ensure that the public has the chance to make an educated decision about who will best represent them in Harrisburg for the next two years. Mr. Mako has canceled all three — unilaterally.

Guest view: House Bill 30 could transform organ donation process in Pennsylvania

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Organ donation can be a charitable act to help others in need.

Gift of Life has received many awards over the years and, in fact, for the last eight years Gift of Life has been No. 1 in the nation and practically the world for procuring donations of organs and tissues.

Now, the organ/tissue procurement industry has convinced the Pennsylvania General Assembly to vote on a bill (HB 30) to drastically revise the rules under which it can acquire your family’s organs and tissues.

Chosen Words Leaf Motif Carpet

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

This carpet I observe today

Of yellow, brown and red

Distinguished by its leaf motif

Brought down from overhead

From brilliant canopy display

Tall hickory of golden hue

Maples mingling their crimson,

orange and green skirts

A sight for all to view

Leaves sifting slowly to the earth

Protection from above

From winter’s dread cold, sullen winds

A carpeting of love

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Another view: Don’t let creepy clown sightings ruin your Halloween spirit

Thursday, October 20, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Dressing in costume, playing pranks, telling scary stories, attending spooky parties and trick-or-treating for candy are all part of traditional Halloween fun.

The reported “creepy clown” sightings over the last two months across the country, which are being fueled by social media, are not a new Halloween phenomenon.

Editor’s view: This month, it’s all about the breasts

Thursday, October 13, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

If this kind of talk makes you uncomfortable, please don’t continue reading.

If you knew of a way to potentially save the life of a woman you love, would you share the information?

According to breastcancer.org, about one in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer in her lifetime.

In 2016, an estimated 246,660 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed in women, along with 61,000 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.