Catasauqua Press

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Public invited to sock hop dance

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in School

The CHS Drama Club is hosting a sock hop fundraiser 7-10 p.m. Feb. 25 in the high school gymnasium. This dance is open to the public. Come and enjoy some dancing, refreshments, prizes and raffles and participate in the jitterbug and hand-jive dance-off.

Special guests will include dance instructors from the Gas House Dance Hall. Admission is $6 per person or $5 if dressed in 1950s attire. Proceeds will go directly toward the drama club’s Broadway musical production of “Grease.”

Questions or requests for additional information can be directed to


Elementary school: Book lovers, get set for Sheckler fair

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in School

The Scholastic book fair is coming to Sheckler Elementary School. It will be open for business Feb. 15-23. Students will be given the opportunity to shop and make purchases in the mornings or during their scheduled library class periods.

The book fair also will be held during Sheckler Literacy Night 6-8 p.m. Feb. 23 in the school cafeteria. These events are being held in conjunction with Read Across America Week. During this evening, families can come out to visit the book fair and shop for items together.


High school: Scholarship applications are available in guidance office

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in School

Local scholarship opportunities are available for any Catasauqua High School senior who has been accepted into a nursing program at an accredited postsecondary institution. If you are interested in applying or would like further information, see Mrs. Roseman in the high school guidance office.


CHS Student Forum takes on childhood cancer challenge

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by MARK RECCEK in School

A group of Catasauqua High School students has taken on a project to raise awareness and focus on childhood cancer.

CHS students and members of the school student forum, Britni Elekes, Alexis Bernard and Rose Dietrich, have partnered with the Angel 34 Foundation to pursue the endeavor.

Angel 34 is led by Executive Director Doug Sheriff, who created the foundation after his daughter, Nicole, a Northampton Area High School athlete, died in 2004 from Ewing’s sarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer. The foundation aims to help battle cancer.

Middle school: CMS Valentine’s dance next week

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in School

The Catasauqua Middle School Valentine’s dance will be held 7-9 p.m. Feb. 10 in the school gymnasium.


Mark your calendar. The Catasauqua High School orientation for eighth-grade students and their parents will be held at CHS Feb. 27. A tour of the school will begin 6 p.m., and the class registration meeting will follow at 6:30 p.m.


“Team Butter” T-shirts are still on sale! Call the school office to place an order.

The T-shirt proceeds will assist the family of sixth-grader Julian “Butter” Saleh during his cancer treatments.


Middle school: Report cards come out Friday

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 by The Press in School

Catasauqua Middle School students will receive second-quarter report cards Jan. 27.

Best of luck to all students.


Looking ahead, the CMS Valentine’s dance is scheduled for 7-9 p.m. Feb. 10 in the school gymnasium.


CMS continues to sell “Team Butter” T-shirts in support of sixth-grade CMS student Julian “Butter” Saleh.

Julian was recently diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

The cost of the T-shirt is $20.

Students use teamwork to escape from room

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 by MARK RECCEK in School

Sheckler Elementary School students recently exercised their academic and team collaboration skills and tried their hand at escaping out of one of the school’s rooms.

Sheckler Principal Eric Dauberman came up with the idea for the escape room, with the help of fourth-grade classroom, expressive arts and gifted teachers.

According to Dauberman, the escape room is an elementary version of similar rooms created for adults that have surfaced in the country.